We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel after reviewing TripAdvisor and were not disappointed! The room was fantastic and the location cannot be beat - right on Bay Street within easy walking distance to River Street and all the great attractions in Savannah's historic district. The staff was great, especially Becki the bartender who suggested restaurants and things to do from a local's perspective. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthernViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,273 - 2,279 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

After reading the reviews..which I hold in high regard from previous experiences...we decided to stay here. On check-in was told the room I had reserved was sold out. How does that happen? Got a smaller room with an almost invisible room. Very disappointed.
Get to the room and it had not been cleaned. The floor was filthy, housekeeping could not have vacumned. The bathroom was had water spots all over and the shower needed cleaning . The toilet looked like it needed it too. When we turned down the bed, the sheets seemed grainy. There was sand or dirt on the sheets. But the bed was made up???? I didnt bother to call housekeeping , we were too tired to wait. We slept on top of the bed with our clothes on, just waited till morning to get out.
The location was fantastic if you wanted to walk to river st.
I wont stay here again or recommend, they could have done better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kamenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

this hotel was first rate from the valet at checkin forward. It is a great location, right in the middle of the historic district. The breakfast was very good, more extensive than the usual breakfast. The room was wonderful, spacious, well appointed, and clean. The only negative was the rooftop pool was closed, and was not noted anywhere on their website. Being that it was August, we were disappointed, but certainly not enough to give them anything but a huge "thumbs up".

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank suennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Just got back from Savannah and really enjoyed our trip. We hadn't booked a hotel before we had arrived and found the Holiday Inn Express. We were so happy we stayed there. The rooms were clean, the people so nice and the location was great. If you are looking for suggestions of where to eat see Beckie in the lounge and she will give you great suggestions and even call for reservations for you!! She was awesome! Thanks for a great time Savannah!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here only one night on August 22, 2009. The best customer service I can remember getting anywhere. The staff was very friendly and were ready to fulfill any request you may have.
We were in town for a family wedding. We were hoping for an early check in so we could change clothes before the wedding. That did not happen but Rodney, the front desk clerk, did everything he could to find us a clean room but there was not one available. We were impressed with his efforts. He went above and beyond. Just wanted to say thanks to Rodney!
We had a corner room facing Bay Street. The room was beautifully decorated with lots of room to move around. The bathroom was a good size with an updated tiled shower. The view from the room(4th Floor) was ok. We could not see the river because the trees were blocking our view. I would suggest that if you wanted a river view you stay on a higher floor. The bed was very comfortable and didn't hear any noise from the Street. At breakfast there were plenty of choices. The typical hotel breakfast. They did have some hot items also. Sauage, biscuits, gravy, bacon, eggs, muffins. The best part of breakfast though were the cinnamon rolls. They were delicious. The eating area though was very crowded so go early.
This hotel also had a rooftop pool. The view from up there is gorgeous. You can see everything. This is a nice spot to take a few pictures.
The only thing this hotel might improve on is the wait at checkout. Though not a big deal, they only had one clerk checking everyone out. But after the wonderful stay we did not mind waiting a few minutes. The Holiday Inn Express is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We will difinitely return.

Keith & Sharon Horace
McDonough, GA

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH-SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stay here....simple as that. taxi's are expensive though, so I'd book yourself a car. Parking was $15

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed over the weekend for our anniversary. Great hotel, great staff, great location. Short walk to many of Savannah's best places to visit. Make sure you ask for Jamal at the front desk. He was very professional and knowledgeable in regards to where to go and what to do. Valet parking is available for $15 per day, but they park your car in a public deck 15 feet from their door that would charge you just $10 per day and only $3 per day on the weekend. Save the money and by a slice of pizza at Vinnie Van Go's.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank statesman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,853 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $147 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing