We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, wonderful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, wonderful staff, great location”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed here only one night and would have loved to have stayed longer. I could not believe that it was a Holiday Inn Express. It is charming and quaint. The room was really nice, clean, and modern. The location could not be better as it is walking distance to the River Street shops which was really nice. I was only in Savannah for a few hours so I didnt get to see much but we took The Trolley Tours recommended by the staff and it was a great way to see Savannah in a short period of time.
The staff at this hotel is also incredible. They were all nice and helpful. They allowed us to store our belongings in their office after we had checked out. This made it easy for us since we had left our car with the valet.
We did have to pay for valet parking but at $15.00 I thought it was reasonable.
I plan on visiting Savannah again and I would definitely stay at this hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    706
    130
    37
    23
See reviews for
607
1,153
71
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, fl
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Savannah so you can walk around the historic district whenever you like. It is right across from the river so if you decide to walk around at night you can check out all the action going on at the river front. Paula Deen's Lady and sons restaurant is extremely close by so its easy and quick to walk there in the morning to get a good place in line for a reservation. The staff at the hotel are extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast looked good but my boyfriend and I didnt eat much since we made our reservations for Paula Deen's restaurant for that afternoon. There was a wide selection of cereals, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls, bagels, toast, jams, fruit and yogurt. The only downer to staying here is the parking....you can either opt to go valet and pay $15 a day (plus tip) or you can park in the garage (the max they charge is $10 a day). My boyfriend and I really liked this hotel and we will most likely stay here again. Oh, they also have a really nice pool and jacuzzi on the top of the hotel that is way nicer than the Hampton's pool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We spent the week-end here and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very clean. Comfortable bed. I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netthorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Staff greeted us warmly each time we arrived at the hotel. It was a clean and cool oasis on a few very hot days. Staff offered suggestions for dining and called affordable cabs at our request. One rainy night they even lent us a deck of cards. It was a beautiful hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yearbookgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, GA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend anniversary trip. We chose this hotel based largely on reviews we read on this website. We were extremely pleased with all aspects of our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Having stayed at other hotels by the same chain, we were surprised by the level of service. The service rivaled any five-star hotel The staff were incredible. Never did we walk by the front desk that we were not greeted professionally. The staff treated us like they had known us for years. They were very helpful in directing us to nearby restaurants and attractions. We had requested a room on a high floor (due to recommendations read on this site) and were given a room on the seventh floor. Our room was so quiet, that it sounded as if there were no other people in the hotel, much less a busy street below. The room itself was a little smaller that I had expected but still large enough for us. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast (evidently most hotels in this area charge for breakfast or do not offer it). The breakfast was not the typical free breakfast but included eggs, biscuits, sausage and cinnamon rolls. The hotel itself is located in the historic district one block from River Street. We were very happy not to be staying directly on River Street due to the party atmosphere and dirty appearance it can have at times. We were close enough that we could walk to many popular attractions downtown (Lady and Sons was a five minute walk). We chose to use the valet parking services ($15 per day vs $10 for regular parking) and were not disappointed. The only time we had to wait was on Sunday morning for departure (but there were a large number of people leaving at that time). We would definitely stay here again. Stay away from the River Street hotels and stay on Bay Street instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trekyrct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Great location in historic Savannah. Hotel decor was more upscale than what I expected for a HI express. Breakfast was adequate, and there was plenty of seating. The room and beds were comfortable. I called ahead to request that a crib be set up already in the room since we were arriving late and we wanted to put the baby right in bed. The request was acknowledged and the crib was waiting. All the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. We self-parked for $10 (one day) at the garage next door. The valet charge is automatically added to the bill, so make sure they take it off if you don't use it. We didn't have a view of the river from our room, but we went up to the rooftop and got great views there. The pool was open when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Finding this hotel in Savannah is a gem. The location is perfect for sightseeing. The hotel is clean and remodeled. The breakfast area is large and accomodating to all the guests. I am finding more and more as I travel that the consistency of this chain and their services, rooms, and overall cleanliness is something I can depend on. I enjoyed staying here, and I hope to again someday. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYBOOPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,883 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing