We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This hotel is right in the historic district where you want to be. You can park in the garage and have in and out privileges. You are in walking distance of everything. The room was a corner suite with a fabulous river view. This is one of the best motel stays we have ever had. The rooms were large, clean and exceptionally comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was a treat. This is truly an awesome place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2readPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,389 - 2,395 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

if you are looking to explore the Historic District, this location cannot be beat. and you get a lot for your money: excellent front desk and valet service, clean and comfortable accommodations, and a decent extended continental breakfast. I had just a few minor quibbles: they really need to spread tables out more in the breakfast area, they need to have service elevators as the elevator situation gets kind of ridiculous when cleaning staff is using them, and the cleaning staff tends to get loud at times. but these minor concerns do not detract from a fantastically located, reasonably priced, well outfitted hotel with generally excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMBINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The rooftop pool was closed for renovations, we had specifically booked this hotel so we would have a good view of the fireworks. The manager was rude and threatening and unwilling to give us our money back. The front desk staff was unhelpful. We had requested adjoining rooms but were given rooms three floors apart. They also claimed to not know any info about the public parking deck adjacent to the hotel. (Park in the deck, it is only $5 a day to park, a much better value than the $15 a day valet parking fee which is added to your bill regardless of whether you used it. Also, the valets were slow and there was often a long line.) We have never been treated so poorly by every staff member we came in contact with.

There are better run, better quality hotels in Savannah. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

A very nice location. Quiet and clean, very nicely touched. The location was great, close to so much of the historic district. The staff worked hard to please. The conceriage was knowledgable and VERY friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThefarmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed for the weekend-You can walk to the river(just across the Street),You can walk to Paula Deans,the Squares,the Stores,eat wonderful Crab Cakes at Churchills(right down the street) Hop on & off the trolly(buy the tickets at the Hotel desk) everything is new,ultra & immaculate.The staff bends over backwards to accomodate any request.We used some points for part of the weekend-never any hassle-even weekends.Park in the garage right next door-get your car whenever you want it.We Love Savannah & will go again & will stay again at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgal5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

After a botched romantic getaway to Hilton Head, the wife and I decided to stop in Savannah for one night to tour on the way back home. I reserved a King Room overlooking Bay Street and the river. Our room was not ready but there was one available on the 3rd floor that was the same room, without the river view. I decided to take it since we would not be in the room that much anyways. Our room here was bigger that the one we came from in Hilton Head at the Westin. Clean, very updated and trendy. Bed was perfect, as was everything else. Full breakfast to wake up to in the morning. Great staff. I am already making my plans to visit again in the fall once the weather cools down.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmlewis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We went out for a mini vacation and traveled to Hilton Head and then stopped by Savannah for a day trip and this stop made our get-a-way! The staff at this Holiday Inn Express were so attentative and just plain out nice it was surprising. The area is full of culture and the Holiday Inn is in the historic down town distric, our view overlooked River Street and was right on the edge of the squares. Our room here was far nicer and had more ammenities than our room at Crown Plaza Resort in Hilton Head (and the staff there would lose their jobs if their boss saw how real staff should treat guests!) You guys are doing a great job, and it is appreciated! Thanks for the nice stay :~)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havenoluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $168 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing