We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Historic District March 28 and 29 in Room 518 (corner view room with King bed). Hotel is very well laid out. Front desk staff is helpful and friendly. Room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We especially liked the wet bar with small fridge and microwave. Nice flat screen TV. Plenty of drawer/desk space. Location is excellent. You are a short walk away from everything. We did not try the bar, but saw a lot of folks sitting there each evening. Breakfast is a disappointment...but OK for a "throw in." (some muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea, cereals and juices...cold sausage, biscuits and "hockey puck" pre-made omelets). Skip it and walk down the street to one of the local cafes. Much better. Also, a tip on the parking. Hotel parking is $10 a day, per day. Parking is located in a public building directly behind/beside the hotel. Weekend flat rate if paying yourself at the garage is $3 a day/entry versus $10 a day at the hotel. Weekday rates are $1.00 per hour...so if you're visiting on the weekend you can save money by paying for parking yourself instead of validating at the hotel. All in all, a quiet, clean hotel that I would recommend for a visit to Savannah. (Our rate was $199 a night.)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,388 - 2,394 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

This was our second stay here and loved it each time. Comfortable, modern, clean rooms, prime location and friendly staff makes this hotel a sure bet for touring the historic district. Stop in at the lobby bar (open after 4) for not only a great drink but also for recommendations on restaurants, golf courses and other things to do.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I recently attended a Georgia Science Teachers Conference in Savannah and picked this hotel from the list offered in the conference registration. We got the conference rate that the school paid for and it was a wonderful deal for all of us. This hotel is about a year old - not a remodel. It is clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We had a nice sized room with two queen beds with a window on Bay Street. The bathroom was large enough to actually turn around in! Two women had plenty of room for all our stuff! The breakfast included hot and cold items that are about the same as other Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Walk out the door and you can walk across the street and down to the riverfront or just up and down Bay Street. Lots of good restaurants are close by. Downtown Savannah is all about walking and this hotel puts you right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I was in charge of a church group of 14. We were handle great before we ever arrived. Julie and Jennifer had eeverything ready for us when we arrived. I even recieved the room numbers before hand and was able to give each person the room numbers of everyone. The breakfast was great, we did not use the bar but one is avaible. You are only a short walk to the Riverwalk which you could see from the hotel. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was nice. I would give it 10 stars if I could. The hotel is very close to resturants. You are with in walking distant to Paula Deen's, Myself I would suggest going to Mrs Wilkes instead the food is a lot better. They also suggested Mr. Tony to pick us up from the Amtrak Station. He was right on time, he had enough people to load the luggage. The hotel helped unload the luggage. I can't complainment them enough on the services they offered. The Hotel was within walking distant of many resturants. Your are within walking distant to Paula Deen's but I would suggest that you go first to Paula's and the next day to Mrs. Wilkes. Her food is so much better. They suggested us using Mr. Tony to pick us up from Amtrak Station he was on time to pick us up from Amtrak and on time to pick us up from the hotel and take us back to Amtrak station. Again I have to say It was one of the best hotel I ever stayed at. Thank you Julie and Jennifer. Make sure you go to the roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjgray10569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This hotel is ideally located to walk the wonderful streets of Savannah. We had a corner room which was incredible, with lots of windows and great views. Staff was very nice as well. We would not hesitate coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We came to Savannah for the first time on March 19, 2009. There were 6 of us women and we had requested connecting rooms. When we checked in that night around 10 p.m., we didn't have connecting rooms, but they discounted both of our rooms, that were already very reasonably priced. The hotel is very convenient, we walked everywhere, River Street, Market, Savannah Smiles, Paula Dean's and we felt very safe at even when returning at 3 a.m.

Breakfast was good, lots of seating, but it ends exactly when they say it will so don't be late! Parking is very convenient, self parked instead of valet, well lit garage. Get your parking ticket validated before getting your car so the garage attendant won't charge you. If you come back and the garage says it is full, push the call button, and tell them you are with the hotel. They will let you in since you are staying at the hotel....they save spaces for the guests.

The staff was helpful, and friendly and housekeeping could speak English! The rooms were clean and roomy. The beds were on the firm side, but the linens were great, with plenty of pillows. Pool area and workout room looked great although we didn't use them...too cold for swimming. We didn't try the bar, because we didn't have time, but it looked inviting, and it appeared that they fixed the problem a previous reviewer wrote about.... (having to go outside to get to the restroom and hotel lobby) Hotel had fresh lemonade and cookies in the lobby on Saturday afternoon, but we had just had lunch at Paula Deans', so we didn't try them, but it was a nice touch.

Location was great! Oglethorpe Tours picks you up right behind the hotel, and it is a MUST do! Only $10 and worth $50, uninterrupted tour, with on and off priviledges until 5:30 p.m. and Janet, our guide was fabulous! Old Pink House Restaurant, behind the hotel has great food, but make reservations. Paula Deans Restaurant is only a few blocks away and the lunch buffet was well worth the $13.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetnonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Wow, service, service, service! It still exists! My friend and I were warmly and enthusiastically greeted by Jemel who was able to answer all of our questions. The rest of the staff was just as friendly and helpful as well. We loved the extra touches of fresh fruit, cookies, and complimentary bottles of water available for the guests in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The room was neat and clean and had a wonderful view of the river and bridge. The bathroom was larger than normal for a H.I. Express and nicely refurbished with stone and tile. The mattresses need a little upgrading, but the linen was always fresh. The maid service was excellent. I will definitely stay here again! We initially chose this hotel over The Mansion on Forsyth because of their poor reviews regarding service which we experienced for ourselves over the phone. For those who prefer friendliness and conscientious service from hotel staff, this Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheElegantLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $139 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing