We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, WA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great location”
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We traveled here on our way to Daytona Beach Florida for Bike Week. Never have been to Savannah so we were looking forward to our short visit. I wish we had more than one day, would love to explore this great city. Hotel staff was wonderful and were very helpful. The only thing I can say about the rooms is that the carpet needed cleaning. The beds were very comfortable. We had a room that overlooked the river. This hotel is centrally located and you can walk to most activites and resturants. We will stay here again if we ever get a chance to get to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeharleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    703
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
602
1,146
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin County, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The entire staff always has a smile and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are nice and extremely clean with comfortable beds, flat screen tv (with a lot of channels), lots of lights and nice, clean bathrooms, with hairdryers. Parking is right next door and very reasonable for downtown parking, charged directly to your room if you get your card stamped. I checked out the rooftop pool and was very pleased, though it was too cold to swim.

The price is almost unbelievable, considering the location, which is right in the historic district, with lots of restaurants, and right across the street from Riverwalk. It is safe to walk around, day and evening. Very nice shops all around.

The breakfast is always good, kept hot and good selections. The coffee is always available and fresh.

Can't say enough good things. This is definitely our hotel of choice in the Savannah area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frantort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My husband and I found this hotel through Trip Advisor and were so glad we did! Excellent location, very nice, clean accommodation and very friendly service. They have free parking in a garage next door. The breakfast is average, identical to all the other Holiday Inn Express locations, but adequate and included in the room cost. It's near the Old Pink House Restaurant, a fabulous, elegant restaurant that shouldn't be missed. All the historical sights are within walking distance. I really wish we could have spent more time walking around, taking pictures of the historical houses, but didn't have the time. Also walked down in the morning to Paula Deen's famous restaurant, The Lady & Sons and got on the list for dinner (don't miss this, either!). We went on to Charleston, but really liked Savannah so much better!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We loved this hotel. The location couldn't be beat, the service was outstanding, the room was comfy and clean and the view from the 5th floor was lovely. Feeling slightly stressed from a very long drive, I pulled into the small driveway trying to figure out where to park, the valet came right over, told me where to put the car for check in and made me feel immediately at ease. We were greated as we walked toward the front desk by Jaymal (sp?) who was wonderful, friendly, the epitome of southern hospitality. Our room had a great view of the river, the bathroom was spacious with a very upscale shower, vanity and fixtures. The location couldn't have been better. We didn't get into the car again until we checked out the next day. We walked on the river, took the free ferry and saw a nice sampling of squares, had dinner, lunch and drinks all within a nice walking range. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again!!

  • Liked — The service and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We usually don't stay in the Holiday Inn (Express or regular) so this was a gamble for us. Luckily it paid off. Hotel was like new, rooms were nice and spacious, we had a room on the 6th floor (614) overlooking the Savannah River and riverwalk. Staff was helpful and the location is great and is central to most anything. The breakfast was the only thing I would say is just OK although it is better than your traditional continental breakfast. In addition to your ordinary cereal, breads, bagels HIE did offer eggs, bacon, and sausage of the processed variety. Overall we had a great stay and will consider Holiday Inn in our other travels.

  • Liked — Location, clean rooms, great view
  • Disliked — Slow internet (but free)
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The staff at the Holiday Inn express was so friendly, we were greeted each time we walked in. Everything we needed or asked for was taken care of in a timely manner (extra towels, blanket, taxi called, etc) In an excellent location just across from river street and easy access to city market. Very clean accommodations. Internet connection a little slow, but we didn't need to be on it very much, only for looking up restaurants. Would definitely return again!

  • Liked — proximity to sites, restaurants, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — slow internet access
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ens982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We (myself, my wife, her sister, her brother and his wife) had originally flown from LAX to Washington DC for the Inaguaration, but due to a family emergency we had to immediately drive to Miami. We did it in one day, but it was tiring and stressful. On the way back, we decided to find a place to stay overnight at the "halfway point".

That place turned out to be the Holiday Inn Express. We got there at around 4 AM, and checked in. Rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff was very helpful. The small refrigerators and microwaves in each room would be handy for a longer stay....

We awoke rested and ready to travel again, but not before walking around the waterfront, enjoying its restaurants and gift shops.

I highly recommend this hotel, and Savannah in general. This experience left us wanting to return someday.

  • Liked — right near the waterfront, helpful staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temporary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,837 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing