We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic District Hotel -- Holiday Inn Express Savannah, GA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historic District Hotel -- Holiday Inn Express Savannah, GA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We found the location of this hotel to be very good. It is toward the eastern edge of
the historic district but very convenient to River Street's shops and restaurants.
It is located right on Bay Street (the next street up the hill from River Street, which
is directly on the Savannah River). The hotel is on the corner of Bay and Abercorn Streets and across Abercorn from the Hampton Inn-Historic District. Rooms facing
Abercorn and on higher floors would be quieter than on Bay.

The lobby is somewhat small, but bright; and there is a small bar open in the evening. Their breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is excellent. The
selection had 2 hot items, make your own pancakes, hard boiled eggs, yogurt,
whole fresh fruit (apples, banana and one day fresh peaches), cold and hot cereal, pastries, etc. All the hotel staff was very helpful. The lobby, bar and breakfast room have lots of windows and are located on the first floor with quick access to the
sidewalk. The Old Pink House restaurant is less than a block away. The city's main street for regular stores, some restaurants, Leopold's Ice Cream Shop and hotels is only 2 short blocks away and you can walk to several of the historic homes in 5-10 minutes. The City Market area is at the other end of Bay Street in the historic district.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and facing Abercorn Street may be quieter than rooms facing Bay Street. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thanks for your valuable feedback, I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    648
    118
    34
    22
See reviews for
522
1,019
67
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Upon arriving, we found out our reservation was lost, another person with my exact name checked in on the same day, what are the odds, anyway, after getting it sorted out, they got us a room and some nice extra's, Hope, your the best, we would definitely stay there again because of her. Breakfast is a nice one, but can get crowded, get there early ;) The Savannah Theater is a must, trust me, I am no huge theater buff, in fact, this was my first time, but it was awesome, I will definitely go again o our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thanks for the kind words, I would like to apologize again for the mix-up concerning your reservation, but I'm happy eveything worked out well. Please come back and see us when visiting Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is fairly pricey but it's in an excellent location right on Bay Street in Savannah. You can walk to the riverfront and the City Market. You can catch tours and trolleys conveniently. There is a city garage next door with plenty parking spaces. In fact, the garage view is what many will get. It has a "full" breakfast included in the nightly rate that is adequate but certainly not great. The rooms are not large but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is adequate. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small rooftop pool, jacuzzi and workout room. That is about all there is ..... but for a city with lots to see, great restaurants, bars and social clubs, all you need is a great location and a comfortable clean bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We came down to Savannah after dropping off our last kid @ his college some 45 minutes from Savannah. When we arrived on Friday 8/15, the valet was ready to take our car. The front desk was very friendly, and quickly checked us in. It was at this time we also met Hope, and within minutes of us setling into our room, she was on the phone and making sure we liked our room - which we did (very nice room - while not the Riverfront view - still very nice). We enjoyed our first evening out on the river front - so may great places to eat, drink, and just stroll. The hotel is very convenient to everything. On Saturday morning, Hope checked on us once more, and asked if we had any plans, which we did not - we were going to just walk around (which is easy to do from the hotel). She convinced us to go ahead and take the Old Town tour, and was she right - we had a great time learning all about the Historic Downtown area. We even made the 95th celebration of Leopold's Ice Cream shop. That night we again went out for more great food and drinks - over in the market area. On Sunday we just took our time enjoyed the morning in the hotel, called for our car, and were on our way home. We definately will be coming back to Savannah, and will make the Holiday Inn Express out #1 choice. Would also like to say big thank you to Hope - she and the staff at the Holiday Inn Express are wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront view - if available - but any room is great - since you are so close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for choosing to stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as a guest at our facility. I'm happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over the weekend and it was fabulous! We were greeted by a warm, friendly valet staff member and received a similar welcome from the front desk clerk. Our room was very clean and accommodating. The shower was huge! Also, there was more drawer space than I've ever seen in any hotel, which was great for my husband and me. The closet was rather small, but with all the drawer space, the tiny closet didn't bother us much. We had a gorgeous view of the Savannah River and the sights nearby.

The hotel has a very large dining area that provides a view of Bay Street and the historic buildings of River Street. Although the breakfast they offer is not a gourmet meal, it is tasty and complimentary. The dining staff are warm and friendly as well. The fitness center and pool are on the top floor/roof. Both are adequate in size. The pool area, however, is lovely in that one can soak up the sun or sit in a very nice, relaxing, covered seating area.

The location is perfect, in my opinion. River Street is across the street from the hotel, so you can take a less than 5 minute walk to get there. It is close enough to all the action yet far away enough to get away from the hustle and bustle. The squares are also within walking distance, and Abercorn Street is pretty well lit at night. Not once did we feel as though our safety might be in jeopardy.

The only con I have is the $20 per day parking fee, but this is common in the historic district hotels, so I don't consider it a big negative.

If you are looking for nice accommodations in a great location that is affordable, Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MArrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and outstanding compliment extended to the hotel and staff, we greatly appreciate it! We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savanah! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Best holiday inn. Great location. Very comfortable bed. Great view of river. I would definitely recommend this place. Have been there twice. Love Savannah. Has a pool and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, the "Best" is a hard thing to beat! Thanks for the great review, we greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced... rooms were clean, staff was Friendly..the Hotel sits one street back from the Riverfront so it was easy to get too and from.... Maggie did an outstanding job helping us plan our couple of days there... her recommendations were perfect! Always wanted feed back on where we had just gone...

Room Tip: ask for a corner or River facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the awesome 5 star ratings, I will let Maggie know of the great job she is doing! Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing