We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best holiday inn I have ever stayed at.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best holiday inn I have ever stayed at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Best holiday inn. Great location. Very comfortable bed. Great view of river. I would definitely recommend this place. Have been there twice. Love Savannah. Has a pool and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, the "Best" is a hard thing to beat! Thanks for the great review, we greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    664
    121
    35
    23
See reviews for
536
1,059
67
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced... rooms were clean, staff was Friendly..the Hotel sits one street back from the Riverfront so it was easy to get too and from.... Maggie did an outstanding job helping us plan our couple of days there... her recommendations were perfect! Always wanted feed back on where we had just gone...

Room Tip: ask for a corner or River facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the awesome 5 star ratings, I will let Maggie know of the great job she is doing! Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect spot for sightseers. Across the street and down to river level and you are on the street where it all "happens." You can gawk and shop at the same time; trinkets and mementoes galore. Board the ship for a two-hour cruise up and down river (not all that great, though, unless you want to see warehouses, but there is an evening dinner cruise). Better, since you are on the edge of the historic district, you are in walking distance of dozens of restaurants and houses, churches, monuments and squares, all steeped in history. Ask the hotel for a copy of the "Essential Guide to Historic Savannah," an informative booklet with lots of pictures and facts on each location. The hotel staff is welcoming, from drive up to front desk to dining area, larger than most. Valet parking only, $20 a day with in and out.

Room Tip: Pool is on roof, so ask for a room on 7th or 8th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we will be looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my wife the last weekend in a hot, hot July. Had lots of activities planned and needed a convenient, clean hotel with a hard working A/C. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill fantastically. Prompt valet service when we arrived and the double queen bed room was ice cold the entire weekend. Room did not have a great view but that was not of importance to us. It was very, very quiet and we slept great.
The breakfast bar was very good and had a huge variety and plenty of seating capacity.
Very friendly hotel personnel made the visit a very pleasant experience at a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, thanks for the awesome compliment of the hotel and staff. We will be looking forward to your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great location and pretty good hotel for the price. I want to particularly praise the valet parking team associated with the hotel Parking is tight in the downtown historic district of Savannah and the 20 $ a night parking is well worh paying for. The staff that help with the parking are fantastic. They are friendly and professional. In particular, Tanya is a star. She is cool and calm and directs the parking staff well. She is so friendly and welcoming. Kevin is the other person I want to recognize, He gave me spot on directions to the local movie theater and then the next day "how was the movie?". He moved the cars in and out with precision and ease, even when it was 90-100 degrees or raining in torrents. I know it is different to focus on parking when evaluating a hotel, but to me that is huge when staying in a busy downtown in an unfamiliar city, Thanks Kevin and Tanya!

Room Tip: River view desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we will be looking forward to youyr speedy return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday -Sunday for a weekend getaway. Single queen room had a sofa bed and small bar area. Our view was nice and we could see the river from the corner of Abercorn and bay on the sixth floor. Helpful staff valet was busy but staff came and got us from the lobby once our car pulled up since it was hot outside. The location is great one block from the river and broughton streets, trolley stop right in front of hotel, the olde pink house is behind the hotel which was good for dinner. The price was spot on for the location and amenities. We did hear people in the morning and late night but our door was close to the elevator which is to be expected. Great for people on a budget looking for a nice hotel. Bring cool clothes and walking shoes savannah has so much to see!!! Thank you holiday inn express for a worry free and comfortable stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJO10560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review, I'm happy to hear that we were exactley what you wanted, that speaks volumes. Please come back and see us the next time you visit Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I just wanted to take some time and express to Hope (front desk mgr) and Shavon how very thankful I am for helping my husband, Jerry, and I with our anniversary weekend. Dealing with those 2 was an absolute delight. Hope's patience to keep my reservations up to date (even through difficult circumstances at times) was so admirable. From the moment we checked in, they "stepped up". Our room was the best!!!! The view was fabulous. Shavon delivering the champagne to us personally was so special. We come to Savannah every year, and we could stay any where. We (I) chose ya'll. No regrets there. I hope to continue to have the privilege of continuing to work with you for future stays...we were totally "spoiled". Don't always find that in our travels. Once again....you 2 ladies helped make the stay for our 28th anniversary a memorable one. Rooms were nice and clean; hot breakfast in the morning with a nice variety of items. Noise not an issue, but we were up on higher floors. A pleasant trip to Savannah!!

Room Tip: This is Savannah...known for its parks and the famous "Riverstreet" down by the waters. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks Mrs. Dodd for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to have you as a guest. We miss you already and are looking forward to many more visits from you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing