We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My husband and I spend three wonderful nights in Savannah at the end of October 2008. Our stay at the Historic Holiday Inn Express could not have been any better. The spotlessly clean, quiet rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, contained useful appliances, and had dreamy bed linens. We stayed on the third floor and had one of the balcony rooms which allowed to do lots of people watching on the busy Bay Street below.

More important than our room, however, was the fantastic service we received from the moment we checked in. We were greeted by Tori who was so friendly yet professional. Jamal quickly helped us with our valet parking and secured a bellman to take care of our bags. LeRoy, the concierge, was such a true southern gentleman and made the necessary arrangements for our bus tour of the city.

To top it off, the service did not stop, even at check out! When we unpacked our bags at home, we were saddened to find that two shopping bags containing gifts from Paula Deen's were missing. When we called the hotel to inquire about them, everyone we talked with was so helpful and reassuring. Brandy, Hope, Blessing, and manager Lynette all worked to locate the bags. They found them intact in the room behind the front desk where they had held our luggage when we were waiting to check in. They pomptly boxed up the bags and mailed them to us. Now that's service!!!

If you want friendly, caring service, plus an outstaning hotel in the perfect location, you can't miss with the Historic Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank neutrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,442 - 2,448 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2008

Hotel room was everything we had asked for! The hotel as actually better than we had expected. The bed was very comfortable. If you can, ask for a higher floor facing the river. We had a beautiful view from the 6th floor. The view was great! Staff was was very helpful with recommendations and directions. Almost everything we withing walking distance and we only needed our car when we went to see Tybee Island (a nice side trip!) We took a walking tour of Savannah with Bobby Davis based on other reviews and it was definitely the highlight of our stay! Also did the ghost tour, but not as impressed as we were with B. Davis' tour.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a wonderful hotel with most of the amenities of a full service hotel. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. They are professional and knowledgeable about the city. The lobby is complimented with an up-scale decor. From the hardwood floors to the leather chairs, its tastefully done.

I did a lot of research before picking a hotel for our first visit to Savannah. My wife and I are not frugal per se, but I try to get the best deal for our money for the services we want. For example, location and cleanliness is important and we don't mind paying more to get it. In this case, the Holiday Inn was by no means the most expensive but seemed to offer the best value for what we were looking for. Our room was on the 2nd floor on the corner. It had an average size bathroom, dressing area, small fridge, microwave, desk, 2 chairs and a full size couch. It didn't seem crowded and the microwave and fridge were tastefully done and by no means tacky. They matched the decor and you almost didn't notice them. It was a nice touch and convenient for bottled water and other beverages. The rooms were clean and nicely accented. Housekeeping did a great job. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows.

The location of this hotel is perfect. If you don't plan on leaving the Historic District, don't rent a car. We didn't rent a car and never regretted it. Cab fare from the airport is $29 one way and takes about 20 mins. Traffic is minimal.

The hotel has a small bar. This was a pleasant surprise. Its small but cozy and the bartender, Becki, makes it a great place to kill time prior to dinner or a night-cap after dinner. She has a great personality and is always willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need. She is a great source of information and is dialed into Savannah. She can provide a wealth of good information on restaurants, tours and places to see. Oh yeah ... she is a great bartender as well. You can't stay here without visiting Becki for a cold one.

Places to eat if price is not an object but good food is:

Chart House - great seafood, cozy atmosphere, nice wine list and good service. $$$

Vic's - great seafood, good service and nice atmosphere & ask about the map wall. $$

IL Pasticcio's - Best Italian food in town, live music, great coffee, dessert and port. $$$

Ok .. Why 4 stars? The shower pressure was dismal. Nothing is worse then low shower pressure after a long day on your feet. I called to have someone check it and there was someone at the door in 1 min. That was impressive. They couldn't fix it, but the response time was still impressive. The wireless INTERNET is almost useless. It was almost impossible to check email or do any business whatsoever. I finally gave up and switch to my air-card.

Other then that, this was a great Hotel which I would highly recommend. We loved the town and will definitely stay here again. It is fantastic value and the staff is exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BenD0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Great corner room with river view. Good location and by paying in advance got a pretty good rate for Savannah.

Had a very upbeat friendly welcome by our desk clerk Jaimeer However things went into bizarro world when later that night the Wi-Fi didn't work - went down to get a cable for the laptop - Jaimeer scolded me like a child for "breaking the Wi-Fi" - "it's all your fault" over and over and over again with no let up. There was no indication that he was trying to be funny. Then this 20 something year old started talking to my wife disrespectfully. We did nothing to invite this treatment and tried our best to get him to rise on up to a higher level. The people on the other desk shifts were fine. We were determined not to let this unfortunate person ruin our time in Savannah We avoided him for the rest of the stay and ended up having a great time.

Ate at some good restaurants I found at Classicamericanfood.com

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Japhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This hotel is in an excellent area of the historic district. It fronts on the main street and if you get a balcony room, you can see the river. Hotel is only one year old..impeccably clean, and has a very good free breakfast buffet.Excellent value. Also, has a bar with a very outgoing bar tender! She made it a lot of fun!

2  Thank alioaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

this is a great hotel with a great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a decent breakfast, nice little bar, and a cozy living room area with a fireplace. We lost power one morning for about an hour....prime time about 8 to 9 am and the staff was in control and wonderful. The generator had house lights running and they made everyone calm and supplied what they could of breakfast. A great hotel for a firrts trip...next time may try something a little off the main road...planters in....magnolia in.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank carol_a_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Over the last twelve years my husband and I have been visiting Savannah and staying at the same location until a staff member became the Guest Service Manager at the Holiday Inn Express on Bay Street. We followed her to her new location because you always follow the best. Lynette Plowe and her staff always have the sign out....."WELCOME HOME"........During my husband's cancer treatments, we were able to travel to Savannah because Lynette and her staff were always there for us. Although the other property we stayed was excellent in all services, we could not be happier staying at the Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The view of the river is unbelievable and River Street and Huey's is a couple blocks away. Lynette and her staff are always there for you....24 hours. If you are looking for a home away from home, this is the place. Lynette and all of her staff members are the greatest hostesses and hosts in Savannah.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grannynmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $137 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing