We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Included breakfast that was the best of the free breakfasts I've tried.

Location is perfect across from the river - close to many recommended restaurants.

Roof top pool has great views of the river - reminds me of Avignon, France!

Santiana and Brittnay were awesome

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShayneB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thanks for the outstanding compliment, please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! It is on Bay St., across from the river and in the middle of the historic district. Most everything is within walking distance or you can ride free on the Dot or take trolleys. The hotel is sparkling clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are super clean! The breakfast is good and there are many choices everyday. The staff is excellent. Sherri checked us in and was a pleasure to work with. We had some dealings with Hope and she was wonderful! She told us to call her for anything we needed! The front desk is the best, the breakfast servers, housekeeping, valet and anyone else connected to the hotel were great. There is a roof top pool and cabana! There is a spectacular view of the river, bridges and city! We will be going back to this great hotel!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for the awesome review and kind words extended to Ms. Sherry and I, we greatly appreciate it. I'm happy to hear your experience with us was wonderful, and we are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was great in everyway. The price the service the cleanliness it all was outstanding! The second day the TV died. They had it replaced in less than an hour. It is within walking distance of all the tourist sites. The free breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The only drawback and it was minor: The concierge was not that helpful. She was really only there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RitaR629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for your awesome feedback, we will be looking forward to your return. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The location in historic district is really the best. Our room was well-kept well furnished very comfortable. The pool on the roof has view of the city and the river is fantastic. The breakfast bar is very well-done and the seating is very comfortable with plenty of space
The valet parking of the car went very well
The customer service was very positive
We will very much consider staying here again
This hotel is heads and shoulders above that location on Abercorn in Midtown which I gave a review of

Stayed: July 2014
Thank KramWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for your awesome feedback. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We visited Savannah this weekend for my wife's birthday, and stayed at the HI Express. We are Ambassador Club members with IHG, and often select HI Express in our travels. They are generally nice, clean, well-managed and offer breakfast.
My wife and I agreed that this is the nicest, most uniquely quaint HI Express we have experienced.
It sits on E. Bay Rd., right across the street from the river, with a rooftop pool and patio that is lovely and has outside seating mad a covered area as well (in case of the occasional thunderstorm that hits and runs in the summer).
Nice visit! We will return, as we recently moved to St. Marys, GA,, only an hour and a half away!

Room Tip: Inner rooms may be quieter. There is some street noise from E. Bay if you are on that side, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barefootinblueheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

WOW, what an compliment to be considered as the nicest HI Express you have ever visited, and to be an Ambassador with the brand, that speaks volumes! We really appreciate your loyalty and taking the time to write us such an amazing review. We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not only does this hotel have a great location, right across from the Riverwalk, in the center of the Historic District, but you recieve warm and friendly service, taboot! There roof top pool is a treat and offers a wonderful view of the sunset.The rooms are spacious. The beds are okay and I am not a fan of the valet parking. Nontheless, I will stay here everytime I visit!

Room Tip: Vending and ice are on the odd floors. As far as a room goes, who cares? There's a whole lot to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks for the amazing review, and kind words regarding our staff, you rock! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous weekend, visiting Savannah with our two teenagers: *excellent* riverfront location; super-friendly and helpful staff (including valets); room was very nice and clean; great breakfast; rooftop pool, view and seating area was awesome! We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We will be looking forward to your return, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,076 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $138 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing