We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for seeing Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here for our two nights in Savannah. The historic parks were just outside our door and it was great to be able to wander from square to square listening to the various musicians playing each evening. Best of all, our room was on the seventh floor with a great view of the river. Huge cargo ships passed by frequently and there was an unexpected but terrific fireworks display on a Monday night - it was highly entertaining! The staff was so very friendly, the place was clean and modern with as good a "free" breakfast as any I've seen - considering all that with the superb location I will happily stay here any time I return to Savannah!

Room Tip: Do opt for a room with a view on a higher floor - it's worth the small increase in price.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NitaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks for the kind words, and 5 star rating, we value or guest feedback and I’m happy you enjoyed all Savannah has to offer. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,483)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was recently at this hotel for four nights with my husband and 10 year old son, it was our first trip to Savannah. I found the price of the hotel quite good considering it is a nice place in a very convenient location, it is right across from the river and an easy walk to everything that we did in the city. Room was clean, bathroom counter spacious, beds and pillows very comfortable. Was very nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good. My only complaint was parking, we choose upon checkin to park in the city garage right next door b/c was less expensive than using the valet, but 3 days later when we used the car to go to Tybee Island, we found that public garage to be full upon our return and so were several others nearby so we ended up using the valet. But in my opinion, that was minor and would not deter us from staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask about a river view - we were in 606 and had a great view of the river.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, parking can be a bit of an issue so upon returning if you do choose to self-park and find that the garage is you can always switch over to valet parking for your convenience. I'm glad to hear overall everything was great. Looking forward to your return, and have an awesome day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Staff was very friendly, location was fantastic close to everything. Room was quite with ample room.

Will stay at this hotel again, next time for leisure

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thanks for the great review, we are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I were thrilled with the location as it was a short walk to River Street (1 street over), adjacent to one of the many squares, close to several restaurants and bars, and only 2 blocks from Leopold’s Ice Cream. Also if you decide to partake in one of the trolley tours (we did Old Town Trolley Tours), there is a stop directly across the street from the hotel. The hotel itself was decorated nicely and kept clean. The staff was friendly and Maggie, the concierge, was helpful with restaurant and tour suggestions for our first trip to the city. Breakfast was good and the staff was great at keeping it replenished. Though we did not use the pool, we did go take a look at the roof and it had a fabulous view of the city. The pool/hot tub also appeared to be kept clean. Parking was $20 per day plus valet, so per other reviews we decided to park in one of the public lots nearby (there are two). Cost was $65 for Wednesday afternoon to Saturday morning, so in our opinion cost was pretty much a wash and we would probably just pay to valet it in the future. Only negative things would be that one of the elevators was not working so it took a little longer in the lobby, but they fixed it within a couple days. Also, we did return to our room Friday afternoon to find that neither of our room keys were working, but they resolved this fairly quickly. Overall the location was perfect, staff friendly, hotel clean and our first experience in Savannah was great. We would definitely stay here again on future visits.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor so a lot of people used the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

So happy to hear you will be returning to our location upon your next visit to Savannah! We are looking forward to seeing you again, and please come see me personally, I can offer great recommendations on parking that can definitely save you a few bucks. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

To the ladies who make a great breakfast to the staff at the front desk. Thank you for meeting our needs, with a few extra requests that were accommodated in a very kindly cooperative manner. The location is an easy walk to everything. A great night's sleep too.
Thanks Holiday Inn for your consistent quality!

Room Tip: For $15. more we wish we had gotten a room with a river view. The staff tried to meet this request h...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

WOW, what a compliment! The word "Perfect" can't be beat. We strive to provide outstanding service and quality to each guest that stays in our facility. Thanks so much for the 5 stars and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Two of my friends, we all graduated together, and I were coming back to Lima, OH. from another friend's, yep, she graduated with us also, who lives in Florida during the Winter months and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Savannah, GA. I can't think of anything else they could have done to make our trip more enjoyable. Hope, Maya and Sasha at the Front Desk were so much fun and ever so helpful.
The room was perfect as was our breakfast. The only problem was ours was only a one night stay in such a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
A week next time...a whole week!!!
Almost forgot to say the parking garage people were amazing too. The young man even backed our car up so we could pack the trunk easier.


Thanks so much for a great first time in Savannah!!!
Sherri Roller

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the River and on the fifth floor and had entertainment just watching out th...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hi Sherri, it was an absolute pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel. I, Sasha, and Maya are looking forward to your return, maybe next time we can join the gang ha-ha! Thanks so much for the kind words, and taking the time to write us such an amazing review! You Rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I found this Holiday Inn Express at a reasonable rate and a very nice location. We parked our car in the next door parking lot for the entire 3 days in Savannah. The location on Bay Street is convenient to the river area and all of the historic squares. We used the free DOT bus but found that it wasn't that far to walk around the Historic Squares and even got to Forsyth Park. We visited Bonaventure Cemetary in a tour so didn't have to drive there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chochisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed your time in Savannah and got to see the beautiful squares and even Bonaventure Cemetery. We would love to be your choice hotel when returning to our city. Thanks for the 4 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,944 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $158 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing