We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Coushatta, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The room was serviced properly every day except for 2 of the 5 days they only left decaf coffee. The reception upon arrival was well below standard. When checking in, we were told straight out - " your room is not ready yet". This was close to 2 pm. No I am sorry or apology of any kind. Very rude reception. Also, do not be surprised by the parking available! You can pay to park in the public parking building or valet, whichever you choose! You choose valet because the building is already full!!!

The concierge however was very good and well informed (Maggie Benevides).

Overall impression - should have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I want to personally apologize for the welcome you received at check-in. We never want any guest coming to our facility to feel less than valued. I would love if you contact me concerning this unfortunate matter. My email is hope.garner@savannahlodging.com or call at (912)231-9000. Looking forward to hearing from you, thanks in advance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    684
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
567
1,107
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Not only a great a great room with great amenities but this place is in the best location. Walking distance to the river walk and prominent squares! Excellent for people wanting to see all the unique sights in savannah!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank zzznorlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review. The squares in Savannah are absolutely beautiful, great for scrolling around on a sunny day. You should see them in the Spring, all the flowers are in bloom, so make sure you come back really soon to see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We recently stayed over St. Patrick's Day weekend. The location was absolutely perfect, since we split time between River Street and the City Market Areas. The hotel itself was beautiful - I've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses, and while I think they're always a really good value, this had a lot more character than any of the others. It appears to be in a recently updated older building. (We actually chose this hotel because one of our group didn't want to stay anywhere "creepy"...which can be a challenge in Savannah because of all the buildings which appear very old to us midwesterners).

We checked in after midnight, and the staff was great - the parking garage was full, but valet was only an extra $4/day ($20 rather than $16 self park), so it didn't end up being a big deal, especially since we didn't plan to drive anywhere.

This was my third trip to Savannah over the years, and probably my favorite hotel so far for it's balance of old and new.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmerGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
That's awesome. Thanks for the 5 star review. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Good clean hotel centrally located on Bay Street. We were happy with our accomodation and level of service from the friendly staff. We had an issue with the first room we were in and they handled our request in a professional customer friendly way we will stay here again next time we come back to Savannah.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Glad to hear that you will be returning, that's awesome news. Thanks for the 5 stars, you rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It is a perfect location in the historic district close to shops, restaurants, and the river. I was surprised how reasonable the rates were considering the location. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our room looked out at Bay Street. Even though it's a busy street our room was very quiet. Check in was easy and Sasha at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. This was our first visit to Savannah. We plan on going back and we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, Sasha is a rock star, were so glad to have her. Make sure you come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We always stay at this Holiday Inn Express because of the walking distance across the street to shops and restaurants on the river or easy walking directly to Broughton Street to the shops and restaurants there. Also, many rooms have great views of the river. The front and valet staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a HUGE breakfast area in which you can relax and enjoy the views of beautiful Bay Street. Breakfast is included and they offer a variety, even healthy food. This Holiday Inn Express is high end with nice décor everywhere. Enjoy great service in their own classy bar area in which you can relax in front of a fireplace and watch TV while enjoying conversation or just enjoying a glass of wine or beer. The rooms are spacious and clean. The king size rooms have walk-in showers; the others have tubs. The workout room, pool and hot tub is located on the roof. Enjoy a wonderful view or relax on the rooftop. The rates are very reasonable considering what this Holiday Inn Express offers their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Bay Street and enjoy the nice views of the river or Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I think you just about covered it ha! You need to come work for us! Thanks you for the kind words, and make sure when you come back to Savannah were your choice hotel! You Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Recently, my wife and I spent a night in Savannah at this hotel which is in the heart of the Historic District on East Bay St. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. They serve a free breakfast which was good. Secure valet parking is provided as a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We were located on the 2nd floor (NE) corner. There was little or no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor-NHYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review and 5 stars, we look forward to seeing you when you return to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,497 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,198 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing