We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Don't let the name fool you...this Holiday Inn Express has a great location, friendly staff and super clean rooms. We stayed in the corner room on the 6th floor and the view of the river was fabulous! There is a bar outside the lobby area and this is a perfect spot to end the day in Savannah. Would def go back there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Awesome!!! We are so elated that we were able to exceed your expectations. We strive to live above the name and just be a great hotel that delivers great service. We are so very happy to make your trip wonderful and we hope to bring joy to all of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    686
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
568
1,112
70
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a pleasant surprise after a day of driving. We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express and were greeted by friendly staff. Check-in was fast and very friendly. We were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the river. We found that the staff, throughout the hotel, all had the same friendly upbeat attitude. Becki in the lounge was very friendly and accommodating. This is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charbrad-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and recognizing our employees for their hard work. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you in the near the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Decided to stop in Savannah overnight. We booked this hotel because we thought it had a convenient location...we were not disappointed. This property is very close to nice restaurants, for example, the Olde Pink House and B.Matthews Eatery are just a block away; the River Front is just across the street. The Historic District is right there..it was nice to stroll around it early in the morning. The hotel is right next to a public parking in case you do not wish to pay the $20 valet fee. The staff is friendly and the rooms were above expectations. We had 2 rooms, different type. The first was a queen bed and to our surprise it had a double sleeping sofa with bedding ready if needing. The other room was a 2 queen bed distribution, nothing outstanding but beds and pillows were excellent. Breakfast was ok..too many sweets for our taste.. I will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tata2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out your busy schedule to leave a review. We are grateful for guest like yourself that provide us with the feedback we need to be successful. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Perfect location in the historical district. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Gave us great recommendations on restaurants and things to do. Room was very clean and with a great view of the river. Will plan to stay here when I'm in Savannah again.

Room Tip: Ask for River side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gypsy6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for such kind words. We love to see our guest happy and enjoying themselves. We hope that you will be able to join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really have no complaints. The location is great for walking around the city. The room was comfy, quiet and clean. Breakfast was typical of free breakfasts, nothing fancy but hit the spot to get us going in the morning. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Savannah

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments and we are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next visit to Savannah. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great stay over the New Years holiday. The hotel was clean and perfectly located in historic downtown. Shavonne provided us superb customer service! Breakfast was great including bacon and also those famous cinnamon rolls. Did I mention that Shavonne was awesome!
We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: 8th floor facing the river is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zookeeper30165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
This is just Awesome!!!We thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our employee for their hard work and dedication to customer service. We really believe in making every guest experience one of kind and we are happy to see we succeeded with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were looking for a place in the Historic District and decided to try this hotel out. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly young lady at the front desk. We checked into our rooms and went out to eat. When we came back we explored the hotel. The rooftop pool area is very nice and our girls appreciated the workout room to burn off some of our dinner. It was too cool to try out the pool but it was a nice area. In the morning the breakfast was fantastic! They offer a complete breakfast with eggs, bacon,ham, biscuits and sausage gravy, rolls, pancakes, cereal,and juice. I am sure I forgot a few things as well. But for a free breakfast it is one of the best I have encountered in a long time. The valet parking was great and they allowed us to have our car brought down so we could load our luggage and they re-parked it so we could go on our tour of Savannah. Too bad we can not review a city, what an awesome place with so much history. Loved the hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful or professional. Helped us get lined up with a tour, and even made sure we got a discount besides. We will be back when we can stay longer to explore. Great location right by the river and all the shopping and dining located down town.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and it was very nice, I think that a riverfront room would be great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonnieB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
WOW!!! We see that you enjoyed just about every aspect of your trip to Savannah. We try to add a little variety to the breakfast whenever we can and hope that the guest are happy with their selection. We hope that you take the time to visit us in the near future to explore a little bit more of our history. We appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing