We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price and location were outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The price and location were outstanding”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is on East Bay Street directly across from RIver Street and the Cotton Exchange. It's also a stop on the Old Town Trolley. We arrived in Savannah several hours earlier and tried to self park next door but the lot was already full for the day. We ended up valet parking at the hotel which is $20 a day but has in and out privileges. The public lot charges each time you go in and out so we decided it was worth it. We asked the front desk if we could use the left luggage room but since we are IHG rewards members and the room was ready, they let us check in before lunch time. The hotel staff members were all helpful, giving us walking directions to our dinner restaurant that were much simpler than the google ones. The beds were great. The room was large, the water was hot and plentiful and we had a mini fridge, Worth the price to be in the historic district. Within walking distance to Leopold's ice cream, Starbucks, River Street, and the Waving Girl, Several tours have kiosks on River Street including both of the on/off trolley tours. The Old Town Trolley literally had a stop across the side street next to the Hampton Inn. Breakfast was extensive - pancakes, cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon and sausage, juices, coffee, toast, English muffins. Hot and plentiful. We had a AAA/Senior rate which was very reasonable considering the location and the extensive breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear valued IHG rewards member, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very pleased to know we were able to get you in your room early and exceed your expectations. We always look to take great care of our preferred members and make every moment exceptional. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    706
    130
    37
    23
See reviews for
607
1,153
71
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for the second time for two nights.The location is right on-walk to everything and the rooms are comfortable.We had a balcony room so we woke up overlooking the riverfront-great view.Nice beds,lots of tv stations,good shower, breakfast and newspapers. However the thing that sets this place apart and made us return was the can-do,hands on manager Alfonse.He even brought our car down from the garage when they became busy,and all with a big smile on his face.The whole front desk staff is nice.Really like the laid back vibe here.Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
I thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We all try very hard to make every guest experience amazing and I see we were able to make your whole experience great! I also want to thank you for acknowledging the hard work I put into making every guest feel comfortable. Thank you again and please return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We got a great deal with a balcony at a good rate. Right across the road from the historic district and close to everything. The rooms and staff were great, would thoroughly recommend this place. We were right on the main strip and three floors up so what a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack0168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Awesome! We are so happy to see that you had a great time here at the hotel and in our historic city. Balcony rooms can be an amazing addition to every guest stay. I hope it is safe to say we will see you back in the near future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our two-night stay in Savannah. The location is ideal - close to River Street and many of the attractions in the historic district. It's also on the hop-on-hop-off sight-seeing bus route, and close to lots of restaurants, bars and shops; really it's convenient for everything. The room was clean and comfortable - standard HIE, and the breakfast was very good; we loved the pancake machine!

There is a swimming pool on the roof, which was unfortunately freezing cold, but there is a small hot tub to compensate. The hotel does have a bar and lounge area, which seemed to be quite busy in the evenings. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. I would stay here again any time, and would recommend it most highly to anyone wanting to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Location is always one of our main attractions and we are glad to see you were able to enjoy it. I also see not only did you enjoy the location but the service as well. We really look forward to guest that acknowledge the hard work of our staff because we honestly try very hard to make every guest happy and comfortable. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very pleasant stay in Savannah. The best thing about this hotel is its location in the historic district. Convenient to everything. Staff is very friendly and pleasant..We had a corner room which was roomy with plenty of storage space. The bed was great. Very comfortable.The hotel was very clean except for the elevators. The stainless steel in the elevators was noticably not being cleaned on a frequent basis. I wish the hotel had an exhaust fan in the bathroom and more counterspace. The breakfast was typical for HIE and there was plenty of seating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSUWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but apologize for the condition of the elevators. We are in the process of getting the elevators refinished in December. Thank you again for voicing your concerns and we hope that you continue to make us your Savannah hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just returned from a great weekend in Savannah. We picked the Holiday Inn Express based on reviews on Trip Advisor and location. We had a free stay based on points.... you never know if you'll get treated better or worse based on that "freebie" status but the staff at the HIE Historic district in Savannah treated us like royalty! This was a last minute trip for us and we were lucky to get a room at all considering there was a marathon (over 18,000 runners) in town. We had a beautiful corner room (great for watching the tankers come and go into port and a birds eye view of the line up for the Rock and Roll Marathon). Even though the hotel was packed we heard very little hall-noise. The room was super clean and very comfortably furnished. Despite the sold out occupancy the staff was no worse for the wear.... no one appeared stressed or cranky. From the valet (let them park for you and save yourself the hassell) to the front desk staff to housekeeping to the breakfast room staff we had excellent customer service!! They ALL seemed genuinely interested in our experience, our well being and in us personally. You just don't find that everywhere any more. Will we return? YES!!! Just gotta find a weekend!!!

Room Tip: You get less street noise on the upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
OH My!! Thank you for such an amazing review. We try to care of our IHG reward members at all times. It seems we made a great impression on you and I hope that we can continue to do so whenever you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for my third consecutive Savannah Rock 'n Roll Marathon weekend. The ideal location with the most friendly and welcoming staff. Met many nice people from around the country in for the same reason. I recommend it if you're coming in for future marathons, or if just visiting Savannah in general.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoeyNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,883 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing