We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***Fantastic***”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

What a great hotel. Great location. New. Beautiful rooms. Super clean. Very nice and helpful staff. Great experience. Comfy beds. Can't say enough about how great our stay was. Would recommend to everyone. Stayed with my family and my kids loved the roof-top pool. What a beautiful view and so close to the waterfront. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenheron, market manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Thanks for your wonderful thoughts about your stay. We're relaly happy that you had a great time.

We want you to know that we value your opinons. If ever we do something - like putting away the breakfast items before you are finished - or not receiving the best response to your needs - please let our manager know. We really don't intentionally try to have this happen. But things do happen. Just let us know how we can better assist you at the moment. We will happily help you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,418 - 2,424 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

Wonderful - great location and beautiful! Within walking distance to anything within the historic distance! Would stay again in a heart beat!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ajb1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My mother and I just stayed at this hotel the week of July 7th. We called as soon as we arrived in Savannah. The rooms are brand new, pillow top mattresses, 4 soft pillows on each bed, sheet wrapped bedding, so no nasty bedspreads, air conditioning took all the humidity out of the room, (mom is from dry North Dakota) roof top pool with view of river, plasma TV, Wireless FREE internet, Very quiet, Fridge that worked great, microwave, parking in the garage next door. like two short blocks to River Street..... I could go on and on!!! This will be the only hotel I will ever stay in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Firefly7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We just returned from a 3 night stay at his hotel and we would recommend it to everyone. We booked it after reading the other reviews on this site and found everything to be as stated. The location is great and the staff couldn't do enough for us. From the check-in staff to the concierge to the bartender and everyone else associated with this property Even the general manager gave us some suggestions for Savannah as well as our next destination-Charleston.
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious The bathroom was wonderful- nice shower and good counterspace.
If I had to complain about anything it would be the breakfast bar. Not enough of a selection (i.e. fruit cup, better coffee, waffle station would be a welcome addition).
Definitely give this hotel a try- we usually stay at 4 and 5 star hotels and this is definitely in the 4 star category. Trip Advisor was right on with this #1 ranking.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peg361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Just returned to Missouri from our southern states vacation which included Myrtle Beach, Charleston, and Savannah. The highlight of our trip was Savannah and our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Everyone at this hotel was so warm and welcoming. We will definitely return to Savannah and the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JLLJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Right in the middle of historic district & easy access to river shops & restaraunts too! Could not ask for a more beautiful hotel in Savannah, roof top pool great, wide variety of breakfast items too - the location of this hotel & friendliness of staff made our trip!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kimberly75002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

All the reviews I read were true. Britney and Aisha at reservations, Brandi at Concierge and Becky at the bar were all fabulous! This hotel knew everything about customer service until the last night which was July 4th. All the hotel guests got kicked out of the rooftop pool patio so that a "private party" could have the space all night! We booked this hotel specifically to be on their "web advertised amenity; rooftop pool! None of the staff at the pool could give the same answer as we heard 4 distinctly different reasons. They ranged from city ordinance laws regarding fireworks to private wedding party to staff "training session" and finally the owner was having a private party with friends. We did see a bar being set up, catering and flower arrangements. No mention was made at check in that the pool was reserved. Quite the contrary, we were told it would be the place to be to watch the fireworks(which makes me think this party was last minute). Never, in all my traveling or when I planned my own wedding have I seen or heard of a hotel closing a common area off to guests of the hotel (especially on a holiday!). It is simply unheard of and this hotel really insulted all of its guests with such disgusting disrespect! They even taped paper over the windows of the workout room so that no one could see the rooftop. TACKY!!!
Still all the staff mentioned at the beginning of this review will guarantee that my family will be back, you rock girls! It's just too bad that whoever made the decision on the 4th to lock out the guests was so selfish and had such poor judgment. It has left me wondering if this kind of thing could happen again next 4th of July and if I plan to return will I be refused admittance to other amenities I have paid for?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kayakertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,851 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $149 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing