We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and very well maintained. Only downside is paying for parking, but we walked everywhere. Our room overlooked Bay St and was pretty noisy, but location made it worthwhile. Staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great room comfortable king size bed quiet nights sleep clean rooms great looking hotel rooftop view from pool area was great. Breakfast was very good attendant very helpful.it was Octoberfeast weekend hotel located in great spot on Bay st just above River St where all the action was

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and were instantly impressed with the location and lobby. The staff was very friendly and they had our room available to check in a little early. Walking distance from everywhere in the Historic District. Breakfast was more than adequate, with a decent selection. They had fresh cinnamon rolls and an automatic pancake machine. Rooms were decently appointed, and had comfortable beds, but I don't believe there was an in-room safe. I never enjoy paying for parking ($20 valet) but that is city hotels for you. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorinDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry about valet parking, but Savannah downtown is crazy when it comes to parking. We try to provide options so you are not forced to select one option. We know you have many choices and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Based on other reviews, we chose to stay here. Paid extra for the riverfront view and it was worth it. The room and bed were very comfortable. Needed to call for assistance with the toilet and the gentleman who responded was gracious and prompt. Breakfast buffet staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast area was pleasant and food items were good. Gentleman at the desk at check-in was very helpful with map and places to eat nearby. It was easy to see the sights from the hotel.

Hotel is expensive for HI Express but fit with other hotels in the area. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are a little different from most Holiday Inn Express hotels that people are used, but it's because of our great location. Savannah is a great city and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My mother, husband and I visited this property and city for the first time. Our impression of the hotel was first rate..the valet personnel were especially polite, friendly and accommodating. The lobby nicely decorated, clean, lounge area with bar very nice, first rate deluxe continental breakfast. Check in went smoothly and when we entered our room (706) were greeted with a beautiful view of the river. The room was nicely decorated and very clean..a nice scent also was smelled upon entering the room...very pleasant. The bathroom spacious with a wonderful shower head! Located in the heart of the historical district...you walk out of the property and are minutes to all the bars, shopping, history and noise! Love it! Great time to visit in Oct because the weather is not as humid...Octoberfest going on....only downside was red wine had been spilled on bed ruffle and housecleaning did not replace it nor did the replace pillowcases.

Room Tip: River view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate such kind words. We are delighted that our hotel and city meet your every need, but we are truly sorry for the mistake by our housekeeping department. This issue will be dully noted so we that we make the correction in the future. Your return will be greatly appreciated in the future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and handy. Stayed here for a conference in town so no kids with me but would have been good for them also. Walking distance to a good bit of stuff. The staff was excellent and so friendly!!! Super helpful and courteous at all times! Parking was the only drawback: their valet or the public garage next door were the options. Also lights from people exiting the parking garage flashed into the room at night and the curtain didn't close. Overall a great stay. Will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M00nswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a great hotel in a fantastic location. The staff was so friendly and willing to help in any way possible. Becky whom is the Bartender was the BEST! We were celebrating our anniversary and she called the restaurant and made sure that we had the best table and also bought us an appetizer. Becky remembered your name and everyone else in the bar. She would introduce to you everyone that came in. We really enjoyed her and the guests at the hotel. There is a lovely pool and spa on the rooftop and place to sit and have a little snack and drink (you must byob) there as well. It does stink to have to pay the $20 per day to park but I think that is pretty typical of Savannah. To counter out the parking situation they do supply you with a breakfast everyday. We had a great corner room on the 8th floor with a great views of the river. The bathroom is small but everything else was of a good size. It does get very warm in your room at night. I think they must turn down the air even though you have a thermostat in the room to regulate. The shower head was not the best either but we never told the front desk so I don't feel we have the right to complain. This did not seem like a Holiday Inn at all, it was more like a small independent or boutique hotel. Definitely make this your choice to stay at in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella1Tied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

WOW! Sounds like Becky went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you had an amazing stay during your anniversary. We really enjoy seeing reviews like this because it lets us know that the hard work of that individual was appreciated. We will make sure we acknowledge that person here for making sure our guest was taken care of. We do want to apologize for the shower, but from the description given of the room we know which room you stayed in, so I will make sure we get maintenance on top of that. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $139 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing