We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will return again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My mother, husband and I visited this property and city for the first time. Our impression of the hotel was first rate..the valet personnel were especially polite, friendly and accommodating. The lobby nicely decorated, clean, lounge area with bar very nice, first rate deluxe continental breakfast. Check in went smoothly and when we entered our room (706) were greeted with a beautiful view of the river. The room was nicely decorated and very clean..a nice scent also was smelled upon entering the room...very pleasant. The bathroom spacious with a wonderful shower head! Located in the heart of the historical district...you walk out of the property and are minutes to all the bars, shopping, history and noise! Love it! Great time to visit in Oct because the weather is not as humid...Octoberfest going on....only downside was red wine had been spilled on bed ruffle and housecleaning did not replace it nor did the replace pillowcases.

Room Tip: River view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivyeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate such kind words. We are delighted that our hotel and city meet your every need, but we are truly sorry for the mistake by our housekeeping department. This issue will be dully noted so we that we make the correction in the future. Your return will be greatly appreciated in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    637
    118
    34
    22
See reviews for
514
1,009
67
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and handy. Stayed here for a conference in town so no kids with me but would have been good for them also. Walking distance to a good bit of stuff. The staff was excellent and so friendly!!! Super helpful and courteous at all times! Parking was the only drawback: their valet or the public garage next door were the options. Also lights from people exiting the parking garage flashed into the room at night and the curtain didn't close. Overall a great stay. Will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00nswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a great hotel in a fantastic location. The staff was so friendly and willing to help in any way possible. Becky whom is the Bartender was the BEST! We were celebrating our anniversary and she called the restaurant and made sure that we had the best table and also bought us an appetizer. Becky remembered your name and everyone else in the bar. She would introduce to you everyone that came in. We really enjoyed her and the guests at the hotel. There is a lovely pool and spa on the rooftop and place to sit and have a little snack and drink (you must byob) there as well. It does stink to have to pay the $20 per day to park but I think that is pretty typical of Savannah. To counter out the parking situation they do supply you with a breakfast everyday. We had a great corner room on the 8th floor with a great views of the river. The bathroom is small but everything else was of a good size. It does get very warm in your room at night. I think they must turn down the air even though you have a thermostat in the room to regulate. The shower head was not the best either but we never told the front desk so I don't feel we have the right to complain. This did not seem like a Holiday Inn at all, it was more like a small independent or boutique hotel. Definitely make this your choice to stay at in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella1Tied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
WOW! Sounds like Becky went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you had an amazing stay during your anniversary. We really enjoy seeing reviews like this because it lets us know that the hard work of that individual was appreciated. We will make sure we acknowledge that person here for making sure our guest was taken care of. We do want to apologize for the shower, but from the description given of the room we know which room you stayed in, so I will make sure we get maintenance on top of that. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a visit with our Granddaughter at Georgia Southern University. We had a great room on the 7th floor overlooking Bay Street and the river..........great view!! We found just about everything in the hotel to be a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful in everything and the check-in and out was as easy as it could be. The place was clean, well kept and decorated beautifully. Rooms are a little smaller than I've experienced at other Holiday Inn Express locations, but they are clean and well appointed. The location can't be beat, just steps from many of the squares, the river and shops. The hotel is overpriced, but then all of them in the historic distric are overpriced too. We could have stayed at another Holiday Inn outside the historic district for less than half the cost. I used valet parking and knowing what I do now I wouldn't do it in the future. While valet parking is convenient it is much more expensive and the parking garage they use is literally 20' away from the hotel doors. The hotel charges $20 a day for valet parking but you can park yourself for half that price. The hotel breakfast needs some work. It was pretty bland and tasteless and not a great deal of variety. In regards to hotel cleanliness and appearance I noticed was the elevators. The brass-like metallic walls in the elevator are stained and very dirty in appearance. Someone needs to put some serious elbow grease into cleaning and polishing them as they should be.

All in all it is a very nice hotel in a great area and the staff was among the best anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Bay Street and the river because the view is great....but do ask for the 6th or 7t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayCoLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are despondent to see that your entire experience did not meet your expectations. Our breakfast is standard amongst all Holiday Inn express hotels so I won't be able to change it much, but I can offer alternative places that are within walking distance of the hotel. The elevators are an ongoing project which we hope to have completed very soon. They are in the process of being refinished. We understand you have many choices in the historic area of Savannah and we hope that you come back to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a our 1 year wedding anniversary. We received a 2 queen bed room which was decently sized. Our room faced the river so we could catch a glimpse of the cargo ships coming in or out on the river. The breakfast was good with a lot of options to choose from. Aside from the great location on Bay St. I would say the best part of this hotel is the roof top pool and patio area. Its not a huge space but it was never really crowded when we were up there. They keep the pool area really well maintained and clean. Its a great place to sit in the afternoon and have a drink, enjoy the breeze and watch the ships.

We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLOhiotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
. Let me start off by saying thank you for choosing our hotel for your Savannah accommodations. We see that you took a particular liking to the rooftop area. It is a great spot all year around to lounge out and take in the views of the Savannah area. We are glad you had a great experience at the hotel and hope to see you back sometime In the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stopped for 2 nts on our way from Florida to a wedding in Raleigh... must say this was our best ever Holiday Inn experience ... more like staying at a small boutique hotel than the chain's standard-issue lodging. Friendly staff... efficient check-in ... nicely appointed, impeccably clean corner room... comfortable king bed... super location! [The Savannah historical district is a wonderful walking-around place, and in that context, this hotel's locale delivered big time, close to a choice of good restaurants, landmarks, City Market, the Cotton Exchange, etc.] One very minor nit to pick: the plastic breakfast forks seemed exceptionally flimsy -- oddly out of place for such a classy place.

Room Tip: Ours was a 2nd floor corner room ... higher up may have offered a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We thank you for such stellar words about our hotel. We aim to be slightly different from most Holiday Inn Expresses since we are located in such a historic area. It seems we hit the mark from what you have stated and experience during your stay with us. I do apologize for the silverware or lack thereof. I will make sure we look into a different brand that is a little more durable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
318 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was in the best location. Walk across the street and you are on River Street. Everything is in walking distance. Left the car in the parking garage behind the hotel and didn't use it at all. Don't valet park your car, its expensive, $20 a day. If you park it yourself its $12. We had a little balcony overlooking Bay Street and the activity. We had an issue with the toilet, the handle fell off, but it was quickly fixed. That was our only problem. The staff was very friendly. Would stay again. The breakfast was usual, but quick and easy.

Room Tip: Parking garage behind hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtimefamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Every review given is greatly appreciated. We do offer valet at a $20 rate as a convenience to the guest who might not want to deal with finding a parking spot at the garage next door. We are glad you were able to do so and really enjoy your time walking around Savannah. We thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to be blessed with your presence again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing