We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can only say "Wow"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location is amazing and close to everything. The property is clean and the staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the River district and the view was fantastic. I did not see another hotel that was better situated than this one, although almost any Historic District Hotel is close to everything. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra to get a upper floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Location is perfect, views are great, rooms are very nice and staff is helpful. The rooftop pool area was our favorite part about the hotel. We found out very quickly that the city of Savannah tends to “shut down” early (like 5) and there is not much to do after that. My boyfriend and I are night owls so the rooftop pool was perfect for us. I drank wine, he smoked a cigar as we watched boats enter and leave along the Savannah River. Beautiful view of the bridge also. I will stay here again if I find myself in Savannah. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: The balcony's are very small and not worth the extra $. Save some cash and hang out on the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfieldluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us! Unfortunately, Savannah does shut down earlier than some people like, but we are happy our rooftop pool was a great amenity for you. The view of the boats on the river is a sight to see, it’s great that you got to see that! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well, it was the best place we have stayed in Savannah over the past seven years. The room, albeit small, was very comfortable and clean. All staff members I met were extremely friendly. The breakfast every morning was amazing; everything was fresh and delicious (especially the cinnamon rolls!). Two things make this hotel truly stand out...the rooftop pool/observation deck and the location. The view is spectacular from the rooftop and the pool was clean and inviting. The Holiday Inn Express is centrally located on Bay Street which makes for an easy walk no matter what part of the Historic District you want to visit. We enjoyed every moment of our stay and I cannot think of anywhere else in Savannah I would rather go. A tip...sign up for the free IHG Rewards Club on the hotel website and you can get late checkout; we did not have to check out until 2 p.m. There is only one thing that keeps me from giving this hotel an "Excellent" rating...the room was dusty. My hat fell off the back of the chair and when I picked it up it was covered in dust; the chest that held the micro/fridge was terribly dusty too. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel; I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My time at the Holiday inn was so comfortable. They helped set a real relaxed tone for my 5 day stay in Savannah. Everything was within a brief walk from the location, and the staff was so kind and accommodating. I couldn't have found a better place for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We walked everywhere no need for your car. Rooms were typical of HIE but clean and comfortable. The front desk and breakfast staff were extremely friendly and hard working. Request a room facing Bat St., we were able to see big barges going through the canal across the street. A great choice for Savannah.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyeomans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for such kind words. We are happy to see that we were able to hit the mark with your reservation. We hope that we were able to make enough of an impression to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location close to so much! Free delicious continental breakfast with: pancakes, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, bagels, cereal and more! The bed was comfy and loved the pillows...they had soft and firm ones. Nice walk in shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim12berly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Wow!! That means a lot that you would say that. It is a lot of Holiday Inn Express's and we are happy to see that we measure up to some of the best. Thank you for the review and please, please come back to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We do not normally write up hotel reviews as we sometimes find them a bit too subjective. However, in this case we are going to make an exception.

We booked three nights in the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District, as part of a touring holiday, in part for its location and the fact that it had a swimming pool. We arrived at the hotel on Tuesday 16 July 2013 at about 16:00 only to find out that the pool was closed until tomorrow morning for cleaning. We then found out that our room was not yet ready and we would have to wait. We eventually got into the room at 16:20 and made ourselves a drink. At which point we took off our shoes only to find out that part of the floor was wet. From the smell it was at best stale alcohol or at worst urine (definitely not any cleaning fluid as suggested by hotel staff). We complained and our room was changed. At this point we were also of the frame of mind to let these problems go as some things are outside of the hotels control.

Next day we were out all day exploring Savannah (which we would highly recommend as it is a very nice city). Returning to our hotel we decided to go for a swim only to find out that the pool was still closed until tomorrow (does it ever come) for cleaning. We were told that we could use the pool at the hotel across the road. However, after taking a look we decided not to take up the offer as we would have to get fully and properly dressed to get to and from the pool. So we decided to go back to our room to shower only to find that the room had not been serviced (by now it was 16:30). Consequently there were no clean towels or products in the room. We complained and these were provided – we also said that it was now too late to make up the room.
We discussed these on-going disappointments and decided that enough was enough and decided to check out the next morning – a night early. The hotel staff again apologised for the problems and offered to wave the $60 valet parking charge (very generous as we would only incur $40 charges for two nights). They also offered a room change - but we were not interested in this as we would have to pack up our bags for a third time at this hotel. There was no offer of a refund as the room had been pre-paid (we do not fully understand this logic as they could simply pay back the fee to the booking company and get them to repay us – but this is a separate issue).

In the morning when we checked out we were told that the Front Office Manager would contact us by email. This as of Saturday evening (three days late) has not happened.

All in all one disappointment after another. We are $90 down on this part of the holiday but we still think we made the right decision to move on a day early. This was the first time that we have ever left a hotel before the end of a planned stay.

Room Tip: You will love it or hate it at this hotel - good luck. Front rooms with balconies are noisy as the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravellerWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are very sorry for the way your trip went with us. We never want to have a guest leave early because of the service at our hotel. I want to personally apologize for not getting your message. I will make sure you are contacted immediately to rectify the situation. Please don't let this one experience leave a bad taste for our hotel. I assure you that we are better than that and look for us to make up for this in the future if you ever decide to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,080 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $138 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing