We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel with Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is hard to beat! You step right our your door and the beauty and charm of Savannah awaits you!

The free breakfast buffet was a major plus and actually quite good. The staff was attentive and showed good ole southern hospitality. The room accommodations were comfortable and charming.

Would definitley stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in Savannah for both pleasure and work. Arrival, check-in and valet service were excellent. Our Priority Club Membership was recognized which doesn't seem to occur at all locations but definitely at this on. Once in the clean adequately sized room we both had a little work to do. Unfortunately we could not sustain an internet connection long enough to be productive. Night Manager, Preyen Patel, was making rounds, room to room, contacting Priority Club members to offer them a free glass of wine when he arrived at our room. I thought the free glass of wine was an excellent customer service touch but Patel continued to go above and beyond once he learned of our internet connection problem. He contacted maintenance to attempted to alleviate the problem with no success. We went out for dinner, a stroll then returned. Apparently someone on staff noticed our return because once in the room we received a call from the front desk asking if we had an internet connection. After we responded that we did not Patel arrived with an Ethernet cable and a free bottle of wine. Thanks to Patel's attention to customer satisfaction we were able to complete our work duties while enjoying an excellent "free" bottle of wine. Everything else about our stay at the hotel was excellent. The room and property itself was clean. The breakfast was adequate although the eating area is somewhat small but nonetheless enjoyable. Great location close to the downtown area and just across the street from the river. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel, itself, is very well kept, is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. When you put this within walking distance to the riverwalk, it's A+. Would also definitely recommend the valet parking... so much more convienent than having to go to the parking deck to get your car. Also, the breakfast offered is much more than continental breakfast. Eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. were available as well as the "normal" continental breakfast offerings.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleneLowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed at this HIE for business travel many times over the last three years. Staff is always accommodating! Clean rooms. Location is great for downtown. The river is just across the street and down the hill. Parking is not free but for in town not a bad rate. Can't say enough good about it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br5498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Took my family along with me over the Memorial Day weekend to meet a potential future client, but thats another story. Anyway, The good the Hotel is very clean, rooms great staff is great, central location to really everything. Breadkfast was ample though no variety over three days . The roof top pool was great also. The bad was minor, tough parking as far as room but the self park for 20$ total over the weekend was reasonable. Whirlpool too hot to get into and part of the shower door fell off the day we left.

Dining tip. Chart House on River street very good but they add tips to every ticket so be careful

Cotton Exchange - Good food but it irked me that the firies we got were nothing more that oridia fries that you can get at Kroger, and thats how they tasted.

Leopolds Ice Cream- worth the long wait for the ice cream , but when people scream about the decor i dont get it.

Sight seeing tip
Go to any of the squares and sit and watch the people and listen to mutliple street performers

Be mindful of Bay Street a person a month gets killed crossing the street, must be the open container law that lets drunks stagger from bar to bar, Still felt safe in area though

City Market area gets alittle rough late though.

On and if you are a geek read up on James Ogelthorpes city planning efforts before you go, it will change your prespective on your visit.

Pioneer graveyard is a treat, got in a arguement with a stupid tatooe girl there who called Buttons Gwiennt (sp?) signer of the dec. on independence a stupid rich douche, however upon reading up on him while he may not be that he is at least a rouge of his time.

Anyway pretty good trip with alot of intresting shoppong to do also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice, clean, convenient hotel. Just across the street from the River Walk access and, even better, just around the corner from the Pink House restaurant, the best restaurant in Georgia. Loved the fact that the pillows were firm and soft and appropriately labeled. Fairly expensive, but efficient valet parking. The room was thoughtfully and attractively designed and decorated. Breakfast was well done in an attractive room just off the lobby where you can watch the huge trucks roll by on E. Bay Street.

Room Tip: Go to the Pink House for lunch and/or dinner. Just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location is excellent. Close to the river. Close to Reynolds square. A nice walk to Forcythe Park. My room was very nice. Plenty of room. The rooftop pool and lounging area was unique and a real plus. The breakfast area was quite large and the food was quite good.

It is what you come to expect from HIE and did not disappoint. I highly recommend the hotel. Just remember when you are pricing it, add $20 per day for parking. $15 if you are a platinum customer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dontcallmeillcallyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,988 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $153 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing