We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express was perfect for our stay in Savannah. The location was perfect, close to all the action......River Walk, Bell Street, restaurants, etc. The breakfast every morning was convenient and very good. The ONLY negative was that our room was small, but that was of our choosing. Next time we will pay a little more and get more space for relaxing in the room. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like to spend time in the room relaxing, make sure your room has room for everyone to sit to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    693
    127
    36
    24
See reviews for
577
1,129
71
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this location for a weekend getaway on May 17, 2013. We were actually only planning on staying for one night, then continue to Tybee island, so we only booked for one night. On Saturday morning we decided that we would just stay at this location and bike around Savannah. I got with the front desk to inquire about another night stay. I was advised that the room that we were staying in had already been booked, but there was another room down the hall that was open. Instead of making us check out of our room and return at 4 during normal check in hours they told us that we could go ahead and move to the open room if we would like. I have stayed in hotels that have made us check out, move our possessions, and were unable to check in until check in time! This was just one of my wonderful experiences. I left my camera in the room I was checking out of and the cleaning service actually gave it back to me instead of keeping it! Now days you just don't find people like that. The pool and hot tub on the roof top was very relaxing, along with the exquisite breakfast they provided us!! We will defiantly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

loved the roof top pool and hotub was wonderful. great view too. breakfast had many choices and was very good. service was excellant from the porters to hotel desk clerks. bar looked nice and cozy. fresh fruit in lobby. would definely stay here again. very pretty view outside our room window

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rniam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this location on May 17th, 2013. We arrived before our room was ready and the helpful clerk said she would call me on my cell when the room was ready. Hows that for service!

Being a Priority Club member we received complimentary bottles of water a a choice of chips, trail mix or granola type bars.

We opted to self park for $12/day instead of valet park for $20/day. The six story parking garage is located in the next building ( 30 feet away) on the same side of the street from the hotel which was very convenient. The parking garage has a glass elevator on both sides of the building so the outside is always visible when on it (made us feel safe). We left our car at the garage after we checked out the next day to continue to explore the historic district on foot.

The Queen bed was comortable as so were the pillows. This room had a pull out sofa and comforable sitting chair. A microwave, mini fridge, hairdryer, and swivel flat screen TV made our stay enjoyable. The room was very clean.

The free breakfast offered many choices and the dining area was larger than most other hotels. This hotel also had a small bar off the lobby.

This hotel is super convenient to everything you would want to do in the historic district of Savannah. We did not need to move our car until we departed for home. Street parking in this area is very limited and practically every place to park on the street has a parking meter.

This is the hotel to stay at because one can walk everywhere!
We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 224 has a queen bed and pull out couch. It is located at the end of the hall not far from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been visiting Savannah for over 20 years and have spent well over a hundred room nights during that time. This was my first visit to this property. I usually stay in Hilton B&B or Best Western properties. This was my nicest experience in Savannah (except for one very expense B&B). Rooms are comfortable, the bathroom had a walk in shower, which we really appreciated, valet staff, Breakfast room staff and front desk were all top notch. The bartender was having a bad day but it was easy to overlook that in the light of every other contact we had at this property.This is at the top of our list for our October and December returns to Savannah.

Room Tip: Parking in the city garage , right next to the hotel is much cheaper than turning over to valet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location, nice hotel, quiet room, solid breakfast, comfortable bed, super hot water, but by 4:45pm of our second day our room still hadn't been cleaned. I spoke to the manager and he personally went with his team and cleaned it within 20 minutes. The manager owned the issue and resolved it promptly. He also offered us a free drink at the bar while we waited for the room to be clean.

Overall, I would recommend this property. Fair, economical pricing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLove74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear DavidLove74,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right. I am also relieved that your issues were addressed in a timely manner and was compensated with a free drink by our manager. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband travels a lot on business and he couldn't get over how nice our room was in this hotel. We had a larger room than our friends and it was perfect--clean and comfortable. The location was right in the middle of the historic district. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was excellent--many selections in a large, lovely room. When we return to Savannah, and we will, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a larger room. We had a sofa which every room does not have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlenetoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing