We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location, very helpful staff and one of the best expanded continental breakfasts in mainstream hotels we have experienced. Room 423 was on the alley, quiet from street but it backed onto the elevator/vending machine/ice machine. Rooftop/hot tub pool was nice. The 4-10pm bar wasn't great; had a nice drink the first night but on the second night we dropped in at 8:30 and it was closed. We purchased the package with three tours and wouldn't do that again as the Juliete Gordon Lowe House was lame, as was the riverboat cruise, however the Old Town Trolley was excellent. We would stay there again for sure but not in 423.

Room Tip: The "23" rooms back onto the elevator/ice machine and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    664
    121
    35
    23
See reviews for
536
1,059
67
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on E. Bay Street just across the street from steps leading down to River Street (Note: Steps are steep). We had a room with a king bed, desk, flat screen TV, small sitting area at window overlooking E. Bay with river in background. The room and ensuite had an updated traditional feel and decor. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower (no tub) and a small vanity and sink. The vanity was a bit small for my liking. The infamous "Pink House" restaurant is located directly behind the hotel on Abercorn. You have to use the city parking garage directly behind the hotel and are charged $15 per day (although my reservation confirmation said it would be $20/day). This seems to be the norm in the Historic District since parking is limited. Did not use any of the hotel features. My husband liked their full breakfast. The room & bathroom were clean and the hotel employees were friendly and cheerful.

Room Tip: Rooms may not have a bathtub. Check with hotel if you require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about 6 times over the past few years. I have always had a good experience with everything from check-in to departure. Not the case last weekend. I arrived on Friday afternoon. They were very busy and the valet parking and check-in were totally overwhelmed. Several of the staff mentioned that they were short handed. My room needed vacuumed and the bathroom was far from spotless. I requested that someone come to finish the job but the cleaning crew did not get there until 3:00 the next afternoon. The manager is a nice guy and said "if we can do anything let us know!" I made 2 requests, both about cleaning. No response. This is not acceptable especially in a premium room. I always ask for the corner suite on a high floor. They were able to honor that request. It offered a terrific view of the river. I really hope I caught them on a bad day and they improve in the future so I can continue to stay here...

Room Tip: A higher floor will help with traffic noise from bay street and offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CumberlandIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Please accept our apology for all of the discomforts that you encountered during your stay. We too agree that any disappointments, on our end are unacceptable and will be dually noted, addressed, and resolved. Thank you for choosing to stay at our property throughout the years and our hope is that you will continue to select our property and allow us the opportunity to be once again the brand that you trust and rely on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fine and the location is nice. The hotel is hot in the hallways and rooms. We had our air turned all the way down and the room never cooled down. It was cooler outside than in our room. We let the front desk know the next morning and it was still not taken care of. Rhis is April and the high only was up to 81. I definitely would not be able to sleep there in the hotter months.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We apologize for your discomfort and wish that we could have resolved the issue during your stay. Although your duration at our property was disheartening, we hope that you enjoyed the city along with the many activities available as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I visited Savannah last week and stayed at Holiday Inn Express with high hopes. We were less than impressed with the room quality. The checkin was fast, no issue there. We arrived on a Thursday and missed the weekend rush. However, on Friday we discovered 2 weddings and a golf tournament crowd were checking in, and the staff must have been in a tizzy over the turnover. Our room did not get serviced that morning; we arrived back and the manager said he would send the maid up but she never arrived. Additionally, the coffee did not get replaced in the room, nor was there cream or sugar packets available. We went down to the lobby to retrieve these ourselves twice. Though I was not expecting 5-star quality, the towels were obviously worn out and had the consistency of sandpaper. There was a big red stain on the carpet beside the bed. The mattress was extremely firm and we both tossed and turned on it during our stay. On Saturday, our TV didn't work; all the channels had vertical bars. We reported this to the hotel and were told they would report it to maintenance. We never heard back from them. About an hour later, the TV signal returned. Whether maintenance fixed it or this was conicidence we will never know since no one followed up with us.

On the plus side, the location is very convenient and the free breakfast buffet was good. Though the staff was not especially helpful in attending our issues, they were very friendly and courteous each time we spoke with them. Given the not-inconsiderable sum we spent for 4 nights in this hotel, I expected less problems with the room. Next time, we will book elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWheeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property and please accept my apology on behalf of our staff. We hope that you enjoyed yourselves in the city and wish that you would again consider our property so that we are able to show you how much we truly do value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is so far above what you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. The lobby is really nice,the rooms are great. Very comfortable beds and they each have refrigerators and microwaves as well as coffee makers. The location is fantastic, right across the street from River Street, steps away from one of Savannah's best restaurants, The Olde Pink House. The hotel has a cute little bar with very personable bar tenders. There is a great pool and hot tub on the rooftop and they have both valet and self-parking. I just got back from 5 days there and every person from the valets, desk clerks, bartenders, housekeepers could not have been nicer or more helpful. Free wi-fi too!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have extra windows. It is loud if you are facing Bay Street because there is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are appreciative of your gracious comments and are excited that you were able to enjoy all of our many amenities. Looking forward to seeing and serving you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Savannha. The hotel was in The perfect location. The staff was GREAT and so very helpful they did everything they could to make out stay pleasant. ! It was too cold to swim but the hot tub was nice and very clean!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshadow37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are glad that you were able to at least experience some portion of our rooftop area; hopefully during your NEXT visit, you will be afforded the opportunity to experience the pool as well. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing