We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall i give it a 4.75/5. Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a great nights stay here and i will use this location again. The staff here was absolutely outstanding and the rooms were clean and neat -could use a little cosmetic updating, but overall the room was nice. Breakfast was great, and so was the rooftop hot tub, but it would really get a bump up in ratings if the rooftop pool was heated. It was a little chilly to go in the pool, si hot tub only in the winter. I had a riverview room overlooking busy Bay st below, but from the 4th floor i really didnt hear any traffic noise as others had reported. Stay here, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your suggestions on improving our property; they will be dually noted! We appreciate your honesty and transparency with not only our team, but as well as with future guests. Looking forward to your future visits and hope that you will continue to entrust your stays with Holiday Inn Express worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Savannah and the Holiday Inn Express was chosen by family as a gift. We were expecting the typical Holiday Inn Express and were so pleasantly surprised. The lobby is inviting as is the clubby bar attached to it. It's located across the street from the River Walk, the historic downtown is two blocks away and a multitude of restaurants of varying tastes were within a five minute walk in any direction. A parking garage is immediately behind the hotel or we could have used the hotel's valet services. It was so centrally located we could not have asked for more. Our room was really attractive and quiet and the front desk was very attentive. Here's a tip: the pool and a really nice sitting area is on the roof. We went up in the evening and had a wonderful view of the bridge and the golden dome. A great place to relax and enjoy a beverage.
I'd like to add that the Visitor's Bureau sells a parking pass for one or two days for substantially less than one of the parking garages charges. It's good for most city lots and for all metered parking spaces. We bought one when we entered town. It allowed us to move the car from lot to lot as we roamed the town and saved us a lot of additional walking. It was a great value.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from elevators and Bay Street as it is a very busy street.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

We are enthusiased that you utilized the the Visitor's Bureau and were able to not only save money at our property, but as well as within the city via parking. Our team strives for customer satisfaction daily and are pleased that we are as impressive as we work to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was skeptical. I normally stick to Marriott and Hilton properties and only go to HI Express as a last resort. That said, this hotel was great. Lovely lobby and lounge area perfect for meeting with friends and family over the wedding week-end that brought us to town. Rooms were very nice. Bartender made very generous drinks. Valet parking at $20 day was steep but they were quick to retrieve your car when needed

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms (bay street side) as the city view rooms face a parking garage across the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

We are pleased that our property was the first impressive HIE that you have experienced! Now that you have been successfully introduced to the high end hospitality that our company can provide, we hope that you will continue to patronage other locations worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Akendra is a credit not only to your hotel but to the hospitality industry. She goes above and beyond to accommodate and make the Savannah experience a terrific one. We had a wonderful stay here for a conference of tourism professionals.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your compliment in regards to our front desk staff, we strive for customer satisfaction across the board and we are grateful that our goals are being recognized. Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to not only our team, but our property as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location and the staff make this hotel a great choice for a visit to Savannah. It is within walking distance of most of the attractions and right next to the River Street attractions. There is valet parking but if you prefer to park yourself there is also a garage right next door and the rate is very reasonable. I think we paid $7. The only negative is that the rooms did seem to be in need of a little updating. Upon entering the first room it appeared a bit "dingy" there were water stains on the bathroom shower and sink and the room seemed to be rather small. We were immediately moved to another room upon request by the extremely polite and understanding desk staff and the second room was larger although still had the water stains. My apologies to housekeeping for thinking the first room had not been properly cleaned. I realize I have become spoiled by Holiday Inn Express because I stay with them frequently and most of the hotels are nearly brand new. Understanding this is an older property and a budget hotel in a large city - I still highly recommend HIExpress thanks to the convenient location and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlnten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Savannah, like many older and historic cities, is challenged by lack of parking. Anyone desiring to take advantage of the historic district should choose their hotel location carefully. Walking is the best method for exploring the city shops and restaurants. This hotel has a great location - right across the street from the stairs and ramp down to river street as well as the city blocks that make up the historic district. Yes, as mentioned in other reviews, their valet is $20 per day, but the city parking garage is literally right next door and provides another option. Parking on the streets - if you can find a spot - is free on weekends.

We also enjoyed the large downstairs common area. Many hotels have such a tiny breakfast area, but this property has lots of room and plenty of tables.

The rooms are well appointed and welcoming. Perhaps my only complaint, would be that they seem a little tight on space. In a hotel room a few square feet matter a lot. We did have corner room, which could have been the reason. The bathroom, however, was large and spacious.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SladeBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at this property in late January. The location was terrific - right in the middle of several historic walking tours. The room was very nice - we had a 7th floor corner room - comfortable and attractive. wifi, fridge, lots of towels. The breakfast, which was included, was fine - we could have gone out nearby and chose not to for convenience. Yogurt, fruit, cereal, biscuits, ham or sausage, coffee, tea, The staff were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. the rooftop pool would be nice in warmer weather for the views alone. Park yourself at the public parking which is right beside the hotel - no need at all for valet parking. More than met expectations for a holiday inn express in terms of amenities normally found in a higher priced hotel.

Room Tip: we asked for a higher floor to get a view and were lucky to get a corner on the 7th floor overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $138 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing