We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently spent three nights here. It was our second stay at this hotel. The hotel is up-to-date, clean and has a friendly, helpful staff. The room rate is very good for this great location, across from River Street. A parking garage is conveniently located behind the hotel. It is one of our all time favorites and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    686
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
568
1,112
70
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked our room from directly from the HIExpress website and got a standard queen room for $99 - mid week. Hotel is right downtown, walking distance to everything! Clean, well appointed room, and quiet. These discounted rooms are on the backside of the hotel, the view was of the alley and parking garage. Not ideal, but luckily we didn't spend much time in the room, so view didn't bother us. The hotel is new or perhaps recently renovated, it's clean all the way around. Front desk staff were very friendly. Excellent pool/jacuzzi and patio on the rooftop with views overlooking the river! We self-parked (rather than the $20 valet fee) in the garage next door for only $7 per day. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirl59j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I always try to find a Holiday Inn Express when I travel, because I have never been disappointed in their service. This hotel is no exception. It is clean and comfortable, with an excellent location. It is within walking distance of all the downtown shops and restaurants and provides very easy access to River Street. Valet parking is convenient and breakfast is free! What's not to love?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfosdyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you so much for such a great review. It really means a lot to us when guest leave reviews to let us know how good or bad we are doing. We are happy that we were able to leave a lasting impression you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
473 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My bride and I stayed here during a long road trip. The room was clean, comfortable, and staff were courteous...nothing spectacular, but very nice. It would have been nice to stay longer, because there is a rich history in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are disappointed to see that your room was just nice. We would love the chance to make your stay and view of room incredible. We are a top 10 hotel in Savannah and really want for you and every guest that visits us to feel that we have earned that title. Thank you again for your review and please come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I started at the Hyatt for a conference and it was nice. I switched to Holiday Inn becasue the Hyatt had so much noise from the river front with vendors and men singing and playing trumpet and the City Hall clock clanging every 30 minutes beside my window I had to move!
Holiday Inn Express is great! Breakfast is good. There is a bar in the evenings with a nice lounge and a fireplace for chilly nights. My room is spotless with a microwave and fridge...Hyatt had neither in their rooms! The bathroom is spotless with great tile showers where as the Hyatt bathroom was worn with a dingy tub and those basic shower curtains that wrap around you as you shower! It was only $119 and night directly across from the river! Wonderful gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

There is nothing more to really say. We can't say thank you enough for this wonderful review. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments. We try striving to make every guest experience amazing and each person feel comfortable and welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Down here in Savannah Georgia on Military orders. This Hotel has a very friendly staff, very clean rooms, a pool and hot tub on the roof, and a bar downstairs. It is within walking distance of anything you could ever want to do in Savannah. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place at an affordable rate!

Room Tip: Face the River! Wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The physical facility isn't anything to write home about, average Holiday Inn Express. But this was our second visit to Savannah and since our first stay at this Holiday Inn Express went so well, we decided to stay there again. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, greeting you like they are family the minute you walk in the door. Even the valet parking attendant goes out of his way to be friendly regardless of whether you are using valet parking or not. Rooms are clean. Ours overlooked Bay Street and was comfortable. Breakfast was average, but the cinammon rolls somehow tasted better here than at other locations. Will stay here again on our next trip. It is just so darned convenient to everything in the Historic District and the folks are so nice! Price was good, too. And a hint -- the city parking garage right next door is a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank speaksgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing