We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, courteous staff, clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our first visit to Savannah and we chose this hotel from the reviews and it was perfect. We got a room on the 7th floor with a view of the river which was fun to sit and watch ships so close. The king bed was comfy and room clean and nicely decorated. Just across the street was the river walk with tour pick up and lots of resturaunts. We had a rental car and they valet parked it for 15$ a day which was so easy to call and they always had it waiting for us. We needed directions to Ft Pulaski and the front desk gave us a print out of the directions. Free breakfast was great to get a quick start on the day.
The only con was the noise on Friday night on the street. I think a motorcycle drove around the block reving its motor till 3 am. Comes with the Bay St location but still would come again. No ghosts woke me here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JmWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,748 - 1,754 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were in town for the Tall Ship Festival and were looking for somewhere close but not too pricey. This hotel was right in the middle of the action which is a plus and minus. Upside; was in walking distane of everything. Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and great view from rooftop pool area. Downside, traffic noise was terrible! The price was a little high, but it was a special weekend.
I will stay here again but ask for a room on the backside!

Room Tip: Traffic noise on the city side is terrible. Ask for room on backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfhtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was our second stay at the Holiday Inn Express Savannah. The first time 2 years ago, we had a really beautiful room that looked so much like Savannah decor. This time, we had maybe a non-refurbished room, which was still okay, but not for the price ($230/night). There was mold in the bathtub. The room was clean though and would probably stay there again due to the perfect location, but maybe ask for a nicer room especially if you have a longer stay. Only had breakfast once since there are so many good restaurants close by. They did have a nice selection of foods. The staff was nice to us and answered our questions.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room and away from the main street. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear mollydaisy,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location ...quite but near everything. Completely satisfied!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dellcomm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very nice hotel and super location with view of the river from the roof top pool area. Comfortable bed with quality sheets and nice appointments, such as a microwave and mini-fridge. Great value for the money and a wide variety for self-serve breakfast, including eggs and a pancake maker! Courteous service at the front desk and all in all, an A++! Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We faced the river and weren't really bothered by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and decided to stay again this year on our latest trip to Savannah. I like this hotel because of its location and decor. However, on both stays I did not find the people at the front desk very helpful. On this stay, our room had the air conditioning heating vent right next to the head of the bed. I noticed a ticking noise coming from the vent in the afternoon. I called the front desk and was told someone would be sent to look at it. No one ever came, and we didn't want to hang around waiting for someone when it got to be dinner time, so we left the hotel for a few hours. Since the noise was intermittent, I figured I could just deal with it for the night. However, after we returned from dinner it got loud and constant, so I called the front desk again, and someone did come around ten o'clock to look at it. He changed the air filter and said ithe noise should stop after a few minutes. He left around eleven, and the noise started again. It was too late at that time to do anything more. My sleep was interrrupted throughout the night. I told the person at the front desk about it the next morning, and she said she would have someone look at it before the room was booked again. This was not what I expected to hear...no mention of how sorry she was that I had a bad night's sleep or anything close. I really like this hotel for the reasons I mentioned in the beginning of the review, but I won't be staying at it again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATravelingGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear ATravelingGirl09,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. You have covered most aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments in meeting your expectations with our rooms, cleanliness and location. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor quality service from our staff. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here several years ago and were impressed with it. We stayed here for three days recently and I dont know what happened but the hotel's standards have slipped. There were three main issues that concerned me.

One was that the wifi was spotty at best. We had an ipad and and iphone with us. Half the time the wifi was not working. We checked with another couple who were with us and were staying nearby and they experienced the same issues.

Two was that our room was not cleaned the first day that we were there. We left at 10 am and saw a maid in the room next door. We got back at about 4 and a maid said that she forgot to give us towels. She gave us the towels, but when we got into the room, the bed was not made, nor was the room cleaned.

Finally was the attitude of one of the valet parking attendants. We dropped off our car and when we got to our room, we realized that we had left something in our car. My wife called front desk. They transferred her to the valets and she explained the problem to them. The valet said that they would bring the car around again so we could retrieve the item. I went down expecting the car to be there. When I got there it wasn't and the valet had such an attitude that I would up getting the keys from him, and going to where the car was parked in the adjacent garage and then getting the item myself. If you are going to charge me for valet parking, don't give me an attitude when something like this happens.

Overall this stay was a disappointment. There are a lot of other hotels in the same price range as this one in Savannah. We will be staying at one of them the next time that we are in town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear bwco,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,989 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $150 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing