We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel bearing the name Hilton. The general feel of the hotel did not live up to the cost. There were very few channels available on the television set. We felt that the "stay refreshed" voucher for one bottle of water was slightly demeaning. However the staff were friendly and professional and subsequently the manager was very responsive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with low odd numbers e.g. 03,04, 05 etc., which are very noisy owing to external generat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HGI_Midtown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you left unsatisfied with your stay. We typically receive rave reviews from our guests and do apologize that you were disappointed. We strive to provide our guests with an excellent stay and hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown on your next trip to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    322
    146
    67
    49
See reviews for
333
286
60
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I moved from the Hampton Inn in the Historic District (see that review) to this hotel. When I called to make the move, Jonathan answered my call very professionally, he had to look for a room, took my number and called me within 30 minutes to let me know he had a clean room ready for me. Once I arrive, he informed me of specials in the hotel, such as spending $25 for food or drinks would give me Hilton HHonor points, and all the hotel perks and surrounding restaurants and stores. Very nice welcome.

My room was very clean and had nice lighting. In addition to a large window, the lamps did not have those extremely dim, cheap light bulbs that are so depressing. Refrigerator and microwave are very nice, considering the fantastic stores close by to purchase food and supplies.

The workout room was a little "long in the tooth". The treadmills had buttons missing, and exposed metal you had to push to start, I was a bit afraid I would be electrocuted. The last day I was there neither of the two treadmills were working, but no sign indicating such. Disappointed.

Over the weekend two tailgate parties broke out in the parking lot outside my window, after an hour, I called the front desk and was told that wasn't acceptable and security would check into it. The parties got larger and louder, I called a couple of more times, and the last called was answered by Kimberlee who told me there were two family reunions who had "spread" into the parking lot and asked me if I would I like to check out of the hotel.

So, nice place if you don't want to work out or are unfortunate enough to book during family reunions and when Kimberlee is working the front desk. Also, I am not sure there is 24 hour security, if so, they were asleep on the job.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool if you are looking for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtleTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HGI_Midtown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad Jonathan was able to assist you and get you into a room at our Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown. We do apologize that our treadmills were in less than desirable condition during your stay. The treadmills have been fixed and are in perfect working order. We were aware of this issue as we were just waiting for the parts to come in to replace the boards. We didn’t remove the treadmills during this time because they still operated normal without issue. We do also apologize for our larger group that was in house and their behavior during your stay. We have already addressed this issue with our staff to ensure future guests do now have a similar experience. Thank you for alerting us of these issues. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Savannah so that we can provide you with an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we were nicely surprised will all the accommodations, how clean, nicely decorated, professional staff. Great location, love the breakfast, staff went out of their way for all request. never had to call for room service, all our needs were taken care of before we could ask, all hotels should follow your example, thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Frank/Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel since it opened, and I am always so pleased with Bruce and his willingness to help! I travel alone (on business) and he has always offered to help me in any way to make my stay better....i.e., luggage, getting ice, helping with a taxi, etc.

It's not easy being away from home, and it's so nice to have someone go out of their way to make things a little easier.

Bruce makes me feel like "family" every time I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came to Savannah to visit family. The beach was too far away. The hotel where we usually stay had only one room available and the rate was high. I came upon the Hilton Garden Inn Midtown. It was close to our brother in laws place of business; centrally located to family members. The rates was were great. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The fitness center met my needs. Staff was friendly. It was a nice experience and we hope to come back on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn as it was very close to a nursing home in Savannah where my Aunt Peggy resides. I came specifically to see her, however, during my stay when she was resting, the hotel was able to arrange some sight seeing trips for me. It was a wonderful experience. There are many stores and restaurants in the area of the hotel, and it's a short ride to the Historic District.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton with my Girl Scout Troop. We had a very nice suite. The staff gave us water and some complementary snacks. They answered all our questions and stored our luggage in a secure room til ten at night so we didn't have to leave it in the car unattended all day.
The hotel was quiet and the facilities very nice. The bed linens were excellent quality and the room and bathroom very clean. It was only a quick easy drive to the historic district without the high price.
The shopping plaza nearby had several good restaurants and two grocery stores, very convenient.
We couldn't have found a better place to stay in Savannah for our needs.

Room Tip: Suite was very comfortable for our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
Address: 5711 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31405-5505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
#28 Family Hotel in Savannah
#32 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown is right where you want to be. Within walking distance to a variety of well-known shopping and dining options, this hotel is located just three miles from historic Savannah. Take an easy drive straight down scenic Abercorn Street. Positioned in the hub of Savannah's business district, our hotel offers four flexible event rooms that can accommodate up to 300 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion by our celebrated executive chef. Start your day with a full cooked-to-order breakfast and indulge in southern specialties from our restaurant. Savor an evening drink in our newly redesigned lobby or heat treats from our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) in the comfort of your guest room with an in-room microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing