We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour & exceptional guide!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oglethorpe Gray Line Trolley Tours - CLOSED

Oglethorpe Gray Line Trolley Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour & exceptional guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Savannah & at the Tourist Center there was several tours to 'pick' from, all of them seemingly the same. We 'picked' Oglethorpe, primarily because they were offering a $15 special this day & there was 4 of us in our party, so why not 'take a chance'. We were NOT SORRY !! Our tour guide's name was "Tim" and he was a 5th. generation Irish 'local' young guy who not only knew his stuff but was very passionate about not only the history but it was obvious that he enjoyed what he was doing. As a result of 'his' enthusiasm, it passed over to us and made the history of the city 'come alive' rather than just spouting off a whole bunch of facts & dates as is often the case. It was a really great tour and the time passed far too quickly! Thank you Tim, it was indeed fun! If you're reading this, check & see if you can get him to be your guide! No, we're not related, and no, he didn't pay me to say this. He was a good one!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krimson-Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    373
    157
    91
    83
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the on-off service alone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed the 90 minute tour, but especially enjoyed the 2 day on-off service that we purchased. It was a nice service to have, especially being pregnant and exhausted after a long day of walking

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CassieandJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 8th Savannah Trolley tour and it was the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am a local in Savannah and have been on about 8 trolley tours with different trolley companies as friends and family come to visit us. Oglethorpe is the best company as they provide 90 min tours without interruption of stopping to drop off/pick up people. Therefore you get more actual tour time (and they offer a separate shuttle for drop off/pick ups). They also are the best price of all three companies. Our tour guide this time was Tim, and he was one of the best I have had. He was very knowledgeable, kept the history interesting and was comprehensive (as a local I notice when the tour guide misses some major historical points). The only negative would be the plastic roll-down windows which are not clear to see through, so that can distract from the tour, but they only have those windows rolled down when it is chilly outside. Oglethorpe is not the only company with these types of windows in their trolley. As a well-experienced tour customer in Savannah, I highly recommend this tour company.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding overview of Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

You do a 1 1/2 hour narrated tour around town, then you can transfer to a small bus for on-off stops, around 13 or so. Savannah isn't big, and the narrated part covers it all. You can decide where you want to go again and do the on-off thing. And I think they do it for less than the other guys.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasconole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Great tour and guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were very pleased with our driver/tour guide,Tim. He is so knowledgeable and made our trip so interesting. I highly recommend this tour and especially this driver.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolynm848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oglethorpe Gray Line Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing