We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“precruise stay”

Hunter Lodging (Army Lodging)
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Lodging (Army Lodging)
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On our way to Fort Lauderdale, broke our drive into eight-hour segments Arrived around 1 a.m. and had to retrieve key from Landmark Inn next door. opened the suite door and found two bedrooms both with sinks and mirror, which required separate key cards. I thought there's no way I'm sharing with another family. As it turned out, the one key card opened both doors. A little odd but manageable. Other than that, there was a kitchen: dishes, stove, microwave, table, living room area with couch and a chair and television. The bathroom was a bit antiquated, but also manageable for the money. Paid $65 per night for three people. Oh, breakfast was included, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, pastries. Absolutely will use again if available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VAMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family of four stayed in late August 2012. Our first impression was that the army reuses a building until the facility just has no life left in it. The lodge is in a block of old enlisted family housing that I remember from my childhood in the '70s!
Whoever did the bathroom refurbishment should have their head examined and the AC constantly came on and shut off every two minutes (no exaggeration.) One interesting quirk was the key-card locks INSIDE the room, on both bedroom doors. You'll have to wake someone up if you forget the card when you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Apart from that, the accommodation was VERY roomy for the money and the continental breakfast was actually quite bountiful. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coastieinakilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We had a suite with a stove and oven. The room was very clean and was already supplied with extra blankets, pillows and rollaway bed. I enjoyed being able to cook on the stove when we did not feel like braving the crowds. The pots, dishes and utensils were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CANFtHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

"Army Lodging" is the name of a US Army run extended-stay motel-type quarters around the U.S. My family stayed at the one on Hunter Army Airfield in Savannah. It's well located right next to a Shoppette and a few hundred yards inside the Montgomery gate (off DeRenne). You can get to the Historic District of Savannah in 10 minutes.

The building is old (probably WWII era) but they have modernized. A living area has a couch and 2 armchairs, an entertainment system with DVD player and lots of cable stations, and a small kitchen area with table, range/oven, refrigerator, coffee pot, sink and microwave with dishes and cleaning supplies. There is also a beverage minibar at government prices with soft drinks, beer, wine and airplanes liquor bottles. There is free high-speed internet via an ethernet cable -- not well located next to outlets or tables, but it is quite fast for a hotel.

Our unit had two bedrooms with each having its own queen bed, dresser and mirror, sink and closet. The beds were fairly comfortable and AC and heat were strong. The overall quality of the unit was a little less (?) than a Holiday Inn Express, but it is well maintained, cleaned daily, and comes with a limited continental breakfast in the lobby.

There are minor annoyances typical of the Army (some billing issues that we got cleared up, soldiers picking up trash right outside the windows at 8am on Sunday, having to arrange to pick up keys on check-in after 9pm when the lobby closes, ...) But it's a great value if you need two rooms (we paid $65/night for the whole suite as an O-5), parking is close, and of course completely safe.

Stayed: April 2007
23  Thank SWHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Best Western Central Inn
#38 of 114 in Savannah
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Lodging (Army Lodging)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Lodging (Army Lodging)

Address: 525 Leonard Neal St Bldg 6010, Hunter Army Airfield, Savannah, GA 31409-5109
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Savannah
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Hunter Lodging (Army Lodging) Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing