We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Breakfast Place”

Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #20 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The inviting aroma of sweet and savory menu items, wholesome cuisine and freshly baked breads and pastries prepared on-site daily keep visitors coming back to Goose Feathers Café day after day. Proudly serving the Savannah area since 1986, this bustling,but cozy café fuses the dining ambiance found in Lower Manhattan's urban Greenwich Village with Southern Charm and Hospitality. Love breakfast? Goose Feathers Café serves hot and cold breakfast items throughout the day. Pair your selection with a cup of freshly ground roasted coffee or choose from one of our many flavored organic teas served piping hot or ice cold for a perfect start or end to your day! Savor go-to breakfast favorites like our warm bagels, handmade sweet preserve-filled and chocolate-stuffed butter croissants, and hearty portions of homemade oatmeal with fresh fruit, Eggs Benedict Savannah style served on our made from scratch butter croissants and our signature Breakfast Panini. For lunch, enjoy the soup of the day or our seasonal(April-Oct) famous garden-fresh gazpacho, City Market Sandwiches, Signatures Café Sandwiches, Grilled Panini and a variety of green salads. Other popular menu items include the Honey Ginger Chicken Sandwich, Smoked Turkey Reuben, Italian Panini or vegetarian-friendly Veggie Panini and Black Bean Burrito. Be sure to save room for a serious selection of sweets made from scratch including homemade cookies, cakes, bread pudding, Pecan Pie and our famous whoopie pies. Bon appetit!
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and i tried several breakfast places while in Savannah (Huey's, J. Christophers, Henry's) and Goose Feathers was the best. We would have gone more than once but I was determined to experience a variety of places.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snuffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,512
    714
    200
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ate on 05/05/2013 had a great breakfast the waiters are very friendly. Get there early. The six of us all ate something different and shared, Would go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fritzi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sweet little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the way an establishment of this kind should be run! We were feeling a bit daunted by the line at lunch time, but they kept things moving smoothly and a table was available by the time our food was ready. You order first and then pay and are given a number for your table if you choose to eat in. The owners are hands-on, working the 'trenches' with the staff, greeting and chatting with customers as they help serve and bus tables. I chose The Chippewa and was not disappointed. Can't wait to go back and try something different and try one of their yummy-looking desserts. Bonus points to the staff for what happened after our meal...an hour after leaving GooseFeathers, my daughter realized she'd left her purse at the cafe. She ran two blocks to the Cafe to find that they'd found it and put it aside for her...after hours and someone was there to give it to her. They have customers for life in us! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneH831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stopped in on a Sunday morning, just ahead of the morning rush! The line was out the door, and down the sidewalk.(the sign of a good place to eat!!) We had the Eggs Benedict, and Egg, Bacon,Cheese on a Croissant. Both were hot, fresh and delicious!! You place your order at the counter, pay, then find a seat, if you are eating there. They give you your drinks, and a number, and when your food is ready, someone brings it to you. Everyone working there was very friendly. We will certainly be going back to try another item on the menu! They are open for breakfast & Lunch, until 3:00. Make a point to eat here, don't let the line discourage you. They move along pretty fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlkkshic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best sandwich ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Shared a great lunch with my husband of Chicken Sausage Gumbo, Chicken Bacon Croissant and Toffee Cheesecake. It was delicious and fast. Absolutely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing