We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gateway
Ranked #63 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
274 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Welcome Find”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped at this hotel on our homeward return to Canada. Weary and looking for a good night's rest we were happy to book this hotel after stopping at the Georgia welcome centre. This is a relatively new facility nicely removed from I-95 and surrounded by other hotels and eateries including Ruby Tuesday's adjacent. A Walmart superstore is about two miles away. After a warm welcome and quick check-in we were in time to participate in the Happy Hour which offers beer and wine with nibbles from Monday to Thursday from 5 to 7. We were delighted with our room which inclued a safe and fan over the sitting area as well as all of the usual Suites amenities. A small indoor pool and spa are available as well as an exercise room.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Comfort Suites Gateway.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us found the hotel to be conveniently located nearby many restaurants, several within walking distance. Our location is also near several shopping facilities including an outdoor shopping mall across the street.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy some of our excellent amenities including complimentary Happy Hour Monday thru Thursday from 5p.m. until 7p.m. We offer complimentary wi-fi as well as an indoor heated pool with hot tub and fitness center.

In addition we are glad you were delighted with your guest suite and its furnishings. All of our suites are equipped with a ceiling fan and in room safe.

Best Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    111
    45
    31
    22
See reviews for
125
123
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunchurch, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a coupon book and decided Savannah was as far as we were going Went into the Comfort Suites Lady on reception was excellent and told me with the number in our party and since it was a Saturday it would be cheaper using our AAA discount Rooms were very spacious and clean Would stop here again

Room Tip: The room was very nice but the breakfast stated it had 32 items and was very small for a Comfort Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Comfort Suites Gateway.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our clean and spacious guest rooms and found our staff to be friendly.

We hope you were able to enjoy some of excellent amenities such as our complimentary hot breakfast buffet or indoor heated pool with hot tub.

We look forward to any future visits from you while travelling in the Savannah area.

With Kindest Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Since I-95 was stop and go the Saturday after Christmas, we stopped here at what appeared to be a nice, new 4 story hotel. They wouldn't take the Travelers magazine coupon so paid the AARP rate because it seemed so nice. We were exhausted and went to dinner and then my husband went immediately to bed. That was when I realized the air conditioning didn't work and the sink clogged up and no one was available to fix it. Shortly thereafter, I found the a/c unit directly over the toilet dripped water copiously on me and when I tried to flush the toilet it backed up and never did flush again. I tried to talk to the manager in the morning but they were entirely disinterested. We like Comfort Inns but will NEVER stay at this one again. After complaining to Corporate headquarters, corporate did refund our money but the owner of this franchise was not about to. Be forewarned - it looks attractive outwardly but that is the extent of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDIgirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and the entire team at Comfort Suites Gateway I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

We do offer a coupon rate in the Traveler’s magazine; however we only have a certain amount of rooms available at the coupon rate and they are offered to our walk-in guests on a first come basis. We have multiple discounts available for all of our guest suites including but not limited to AAA, AARP, Senior, Military and Government.

I would also like to apologize for the problems you found in your guest suite. We rely on our valuable guests to bring any issues to our attention so that they may be resolved as quickly as possible by our maintenance staff. Any member of our friendly front desk staff are happy to move our guests to a different room whenever there is an issue that cannot be immediately resolved.

We do hope you will accept our sincere apology and consider staying with us again so that we may better serve you.

With Kindest Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Clean and spacious lobby. TV sitting room in the lobby. Courteous staff. Hot breakfast. Clean rooms and comfy beds. And the entire Hotel is 100% smoke-free. Outstanding amongst it's peers. After 10 hours on the road, our nightly stay was excellent. WiFi free and also Cat.5 hardwire internet is free. Other chains charge $$$ for hardwire internet. Flat screen TV. Appears newly renovated.

Georgia exit 94 off I95.

Room Tip: As with any Hotel, Look at your room before buying. We always request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLoveParkville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. It was wonderful to read your comments regarding our outstanding hotel and courteous staff.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy some of amenities during your stay. Along with our complimentary breakfast and internet we also have an indoor heated pool with hot tub, guest laundry facility and fitness center. Our team strives to achieve guest satisfaction and we are happy to have exceeded your expectations.

In addition we are glad you found your guest suite to be clean and were happy with its furnishings. We hope you will consider for your future lodging needs anytime you are travelling in the Savannah area.

With Kindest Regards,

Savannah Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice rooms, clean, generally well maintained...have the same question about the squeaky plumbing, though everything functioned properly.

Amenities were nice...microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and USB/outlet hub. Hot complimentary breakfast was good.

Very nice classical/flute music played in the hallways all night, very soothing for sleep!

Room Tip: Elevator here is pretty fast, so any floor is ok. Mind parking on the end of the sidewalk on the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WahooFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDirector, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Suites Gateway Savannah. We appreciate your kind words regarding our clean nice rooms. We value any feedback we receive from our guest and are currently working to resolve the issue with the squeaky plumbing in our guest rooms.

In addition we are glad you enjoyed some of our excellent amenities. We want our guest to have all the comforts of home while staying at our hotel, and a soothing night’s sleep and hot breakfast are just a few ways our team strives to achieve that.

With Kindest Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Savannah Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

First of all we did not get the room we reserved. Better yet the room we were promised, they don't even offer. Pool was closed due to "treatmnt of the pool" which we were not told about till after we paid(non refundable). We had to clean our own room because it was very dusty, smelly and even had empty beer can and trash behind dresser. Breakfast absolutely sucks. Only boiled eggs hard biscuits and cereal. Receptionist was rude and openly informing us how she hates her job. Manager next morning just acknowledged all the screw ups only to NOT accommodate us in no way. She stated "we are all humans and make mistakes". BULL CRAP! Warning: DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPADAMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our hotel. Firstly I would like to apologize that you were not able to enjoy our indoor heated pool and hot tub. The maintenance of our property is very important to us, therefore I am sure you understand we keep our pool in the best condition for the enjoyment of our valuable guests. When our pool is serviced with a chemical treatment we close it for 24 hours for the safety of our guests.

On behalf of myself and the entire team I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your guest room. All of our rooms are suites and most have a pull out sleeper sofa. We also offer executive King bed suites with a separate sitting room and sleeper sofa. You had requested a room with two Queen beds and a separate sitting room with pull out sleeper sofa, because we do not have suites matching that description we offered to upgrade you to an executive suite with Jacuzzi tub, King bed and separate sitting room with a sleeper sofa at no additional cost.

We would also like to apologize that you did not enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. We serve waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cereals, yogurt, cinnamon twirls and a variety of fruits and breads daily. In addition to our daily menu we serve scrambled eggs and sausage Monday thru Friday and biscuits with sausage gravy on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

Our staff strives to achieve guest satisfaction in every aspect, and we sincerely apologize for not being able to accommodate your needs.

With Kindest Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. When first checking in the room that we requested was not "CLEAN" yet. Got to the room only to be bust in on while having "SEX". " WOKE UP WITH BED BUG BITES" Went down for breakfast that morning and there was no breakfast meat... but they had a nerve to have a "TIP BASKET" out, asking for tips... returned to the room to discover the lotion that was in the room was a half bottle... Stay Away!!!
Bed bugs.........

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misspretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel onto Tripadvisor.com. We do offer an early check-in to our guest when available. However when we are sold out of rooms the previous night our staff works very hard to ready the suites for the arriving guests at the check-in time of 3 p.m.

We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. We serve waffles, yogurt, cereals, muffins, cinnamon twirls, hard boiled eggs, and a variety of fruits and breads daily. Monday thru Friday we have scrambled eggs and sausage in addition to the daily menu, and on Saturday and Sunday we serve biscuits with sausage gravy in addition to the daily menu.

On behalf of myself and the entire team I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we will be taking your comments into consideration for future guests.

With Kindest Regards,

Comfort Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Savannah S - I-95 Gateway
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#75 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah - I-95 S - Gateway
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gateway

Property: Comfort Suites Gateway
Address: 596 Al Henderson Blvd, (Gateway Boulevard), Savannah, GA 31419-6094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Savannah
#33 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway Experience the best of traditional Southern hospitality and modern convenience as a guest of our friendly all-suites hotel, a top lodging choice for both leisure and business travelers to the area. Ideally situated nearby the historic downtown area, our modern Savannah hotel provides exceptional 5-star service, outstanding room rates and a fine collection of on-site services and amenities. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, heated indoor pool with spa and beautifully appointed suites with microwaves and refrigerators. Located Near Downtown Historic District Situated at the gateway to this historic Southern city, our modern hotel offers the ideal spot for exploring the legendary charms of downtown Savannah. Home to stately mansions, museums, art galleries and landmark buildings, Savannah also offers stunning natural beauty, surrounded by sandy beaches like Tybee Island and rolling green golf courses. Located on a quiet street with easy freeway access, our comfortable hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Savannah Attractions Immerse yourself in antebellum charm on a visit to this incredible destination, which is home to one of the nation's largest historic districts in the downtown area. Take a trolley tour to explore the amazing monuments and architecture of the neighborhood, or head to River Street for exciting shopping, dining and entertainment. You'll also find world-class golf courses in the area, scenic barrier beaches on Tybee Island and delicious Southern cuisine served all over. With a prime location near Savannah's historic district, our charming hotel is a convenient home base to explore all the attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gateway Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah
Savannah Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing