We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room service, not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gateway
Ranked #63 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room service, not!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We got to the hotel late, after midnight. When I called to ask them if that would be ok, they said it would and we wouldn't have to check out at the normal check out time. Come to find out, the operator wasn't even working at the hotel and had no idea what he was talking about. We still had to check out after like 4 hrs. The staff was able to accomodate us. We needed to stay another night but only if we could have the original rate that we booked at of $88.00. Sure, no problem says the manager. Credit card was charged $98.00. Don't think I will be staying there anymore

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDirector, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 912-920-9499.

Sincerely,

Vishal Thakkar
Directof of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
912-920-9499
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    111
    45
    31
    22
See reviews for
125
123
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights to visit Savannah.

Hotel very clean and tidy. We would have preferred an outdoor pool but as it was we still enjoyed the use of the pool.

Breakfast was fair. Useful to be able to use the business centre as we do not have a lap top.

Handy to have a fridge and microwave although we went out to Ruby Tuesday which is conveniently a 30 second walk.


My boys liked the popcorn and my husband and I liked the happy hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodle1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssavannah, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our Happy hour, Indoor heated pool, business center, breakfast and the condition of the guestrooms and service provided at the Comfort Suites Gateway, Savannah, GA. We are delighted that you found our property to be well-kept, attractive and welcoming. We truly believe the Comfort Suites Gateway is the best choice to have a clean, friendly and overall great experience for each and every one of our guests. Our staff works diligently to ensure our property, both inside and out, is meticulously maintained. You will find colorful plants and flowers bringing vibrancy to the spring and summer months and our beautifully glowing chandelier lights illuminating the property; all of this before you even enter the Great Room.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.



With Kindest Regards

Vishal Thakkar
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
596 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone:(912)-920-9499
Fax: (912)-629-7089
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

After a long day of driving, the Comfort Suites was a great place to relax. A large room, clean and attractive, with a specially nice bathroom. The people at reception were very friendly. Had a good fridge and microwave, looked like new furniture. Great breakfast, with a large variety including eggs and waffles. Only about 10 minutes to old Savannah where dinner was a delight. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssavannah, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's great to know that you're happy.

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely


Vishal Thakkar
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
596 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone:(912)-920-9499
Fax: (912)-629-7089
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very comfy, this was part of a group tour. Wi-fi, but could not use the ifone inside the hotel. Had to step outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssavannah, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your time in sharing with us your experience at comfort Suites Gateway, Savannah, GA. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our beautiful hotel.

Please know that our WIFI systyem is not selective of any brand of phone, and as per our IT department, iPhones and Blackberries are known to have short distance WIFI range. However, we have recently began installing new routers to alleviate issues concerning internet connection.

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely


Vishal Thakkar
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
596 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone:(912)-920-9499
Fax: (912)-629-7089
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here about 3 yrs. ago, everything was excellent. Not as much now. Things looked a bit worn in the bath and room. Service was slow, young lady at front desk could had used an extra hand. Breakfast on first morning was alright. Second morning was a bit of a mess. No coffee, several food items were empty. Had too wait for food. Seemed like the young lady had to handle front desk plus busy breakfast area. Might stay here again but would check other options.

Room Tip: Check internet rates. Found a good deal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth-tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssavannah, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback outline with tripadvisor.com. It was wonderful to read your positive comments regarding the hotel, especially the word “Jewel". Your valuable review helps us improve. We appreciate your review and always ready to serve guest like you. The front desk agent that assisted you during your stay at our hotel was still new and going through some training. On second stay, the breakfast attendant also had a family emergency so could not come to work. Consequently front desk had to handle everything. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Hope we will make you more comfortable on your next visit to our property.

Look forward to servicing your future lodging needs.

Thanking you,

Vishal Thakkar
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
596 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone:(912)-920-9499
Fax: (912)-629-7089
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I spent an overnight stay at the Comfort Suites at Gateway on the way to pick up our daughter from SCAD. Considering our stay was during the St. Patrick's Day weekend, the price was reasonable. Also, the hotel's location was conveniently situated away from the congestion of the city. Our room was clean, spacious and satisfactorily furnished. I would say the same about the bathroom. The bed was a bit stiff yet 'sleepable' and the pillows could have been of a better quality. Breakfast was unremarkable if you're used to a greater selection. Our biggest disappointment had to do with what I called "paper-thin" walls where our beds were located. After a very long day of work before the long trip from Florida, I was very tired -- desiring a good, restful sleep once we reached our destination. Unfortunately, I was kept awake for an hour or so after retiring to bed by the very loud talking and movement in the adjacent room. The same noisiness caused me to awaken much earlier than preferred the next morning. In fact, I could make out every word that was uttered -- very annoying (considering I was NOT intending to eavesdrop). I suppose if you're a light sleeper like me, and such noisy activity concerns you, you could be a bit assertive about your room choice/arrangement, if possible. Overall, this hotel is a satisfactory place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTeacher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I called the hotel the day before to see if I could check in early because I would be driving all night..I spoke to Fatima who said she would do her best and she did! I checked in early...I had my grandkids with me..when we walked into the room they asked if we could live there...the bed was so awesome..the down quilt..was oh so comfy! The inside pool was a blast...we walked to restaurants..breakfast the next morning was great..The property was beautiful..the staff was wonderful..I cant say enough about this property and the staff..Im coming back this summer and I cant wait! BTW..Fatima was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssavannah, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the comfort suites attentive staff and spacious facility. Each member of our team strives to positively impact each guest’s stay by exceeding their expectations and being absolutely committed to excellence in every detail

I very much value and appreciate your patronage. We take pride in our beautiful hotel and strive to uphold the very best facilities as well as superb customer service. The team at the Comfort Suites Gateway provides personal attention to each guest exceeds their expectations during every stay. I am delighted that you will come back to our hotel whenever you are in the area

Look forward to servicing your future lodging needs.

Thanking you,

Vishal Thakkar
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comfort Suites Gateway
596 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone:(912)-920-9499
Fax: (912)-629-7089
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Savannah S - I-95 Gateway
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah - I-95 S - Gateway
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gateway

Property: Comfort Suites Gateway
Address: 596 Al Henderson Blvd, (Gateway Boulevard), Savannah, GA 31419-6094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Savannah
#33 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway Experience the best of traditional Southern hospitality and modern convenience as a guest of our friendly all-suites hotel, a top lodging choice for both leisure and business travelers to the area. Ideally situated nearby the historic downtown area, our modern Savannah hotel provides exceptional 5-star service, outstanding room rates and a fine collection of on-site services and amenities. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, heated indoor pool with spa and beautifully appointed suites with microwaves and refrigerators. Located Near Downtown Historic District Situated at the gateway to this historic Southern city, our modern hotel offers the ideal spot for exploring the legendary charms of downtown Savannah. Home to stately mansions, museums, art galleries and landmark buildings, Savannah also offers stunning natural beauty, surrounded by sandy beaches like Tybee Island and rolling green golf courses. Located on a quiet street with easy freeway access, our comfortable hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Savannah Attractions Immerse yourself in antebellum charm on a visit to this incredible destination, which is home to one of the nation's largest historic districts in the downtown area. Take a trolley tour to explore the amazing monuments and architecture of the neighborhood, or head to River Street for exciting shopping, dining and entertainment. You'll also find world-class golf courses in the area, scenic barrier beaches on Tybee Island and delicious Southern cuisine served all over. With a prime location near Savannah's historic district, our charming hotel is a convenient home base to explore all the attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gateway Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah
Savannah Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing