We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ice cream ever....”

Leopold's Ice Cream
Ranked #4 of 871 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: No trip to Savannah is complete without a visit to Leopold's Ice Cream! Named the #5 Ice Cream in the World, Leopold's is a "Must-Do." You'll enjoy visiting our retro ice cream parlor, complete with old fashioned soda fountain and friendly soda jerks. You'll also experience a little piece of Hollywood in Savannah as you peruse Stratton Leopold's collection of film posters and props from films he has worked on over his 45 plus years in the movie industry! Leopold's Ice Cream was founded in 1919 by three immigrant brothers from Greece. They learned the art of candy and dessert from an uncle who had already settled in America. The brothers perfected the secret formulas and created the world famous Leopold's VeriBest™ ice cream.Our ice cream is made in house, one batch at a time, using family recipes handed down from the Leopold brothers. With our soda fountain creations and more than 20 flavors available at any given time, we've got something just for you!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
665 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“The best ice cream ever....”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Leopold's ice cream parlour has been in savannah since 1919. There is a reason for its longevity and its success. The ice cream is excellent, the service was smooth but it's the choices that were astonishing. From cherry blossom to lemon custard there are loads of choices. They also do coffee, snacks and other stuff. This was an excellent place to chill and have an excellent time

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear ESVincent,
Thanks for coming in to see us. We are honored to have been known as a “place to chill and have an excellent time” since we opened in 1919. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,472
    1,549
    497
    61
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Ice Cream parlor!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well, the line should have been our clue, but we were ready for ice cream anyway. Great! Great! Ice cream! Coffee Chocolate chip was incredible and others had Chocolate Chocolate Chip, Vanilla and Butter Pecan. Just wonderful! It remains a toss up as to who had the best. Huge portions, not just one scoop, but really, a bit of a double in the single. Good prices. Not a long wait. Great interior, fun old ice cream counters and fun uniforms. Very well done, easy to get to in the Historic District and we already miss it!! Will check on franchising!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,
Thanks for all your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Miss If You like Ice Cream”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Even though there was a line out the door, it moved quickly and we were able to get a table after buying our ice cream. They have 22 flavors or more to choose from. Also many other items on the menu, but we were there for the ice cream!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Ginny S,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Thank you especially for mentioning that the lines move quickly. Our soda jerks work really hard to keep the lines moving while still maintaining the excellent level of customer service that the Leopold’s name represents. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Awesome retro atmosphere, and very friendly/helpful staff. The ice cream was very good...but didn't "knock my socks off" as we had been told it would. During the daytime the inside was very hot and stuffy. Very neat place overall. We bought a few bowls as souvenirs which were very nice.

Helpful?
Thank obxhot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear obxhot1,
Thanks for stopping in to see us and for your kind remarks about our staff. They work very hard. It’s always nice to read a review that recognizes their efforts! I apologize that the shop was hot and stuffy. I encourage you to let someone in management know if this ever happens to you while dining out again. I assure you that we didn’t realize the temperature was uncomfortable. Often we are so busy running around that we don’t realize that we aren’t the only ones that are warm. Please feel free to tell us when there is an issue with the dining environment. I promise we will fix it right away. We want our customers to be happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great classic ice cream place. I took a little friend and had a sweet experience. They have all the classic sodas and fountain with a 1920's feel.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EWheelerLousiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for brining your friend in, EWheeler! I'm so glad you had a nice visit. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's Ice Cream also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Leopold's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing