We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream and service is amazing”

Leopold's Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 896 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: No trip to Savannah is complete without a visit to Leopold's Ice Cream! Named the #5 Ice Cream in the World, Leopold's is a "Must-Do." You'll enjoy visiting our retro ice cream parlor, complete with old fashioned soda fountain and friendly soda jerks. You'll also experience a little piece of Hollywood in Savannah as you peruse Stratton Leopold's collection of film posters and props from films he has worked on over his 45 plus years in the movie industry! Leopold's Ice Cream was founded in 1919 by three immigrant brothers from Greece. They learned the art of candy and dessert from an uncle who had already settled in America. The brothers perfected the secret formulas and created the world famous Leopold's VeriBest™ ice cream.Our ice cream is made in house, one batch at a time, using family recipes handed down from the Leopold brothers. With our soda fountain creations and more than 28 flavors available at any given time, we've got something just for you!
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went oct 13-18th, and the first night we passed this place at 8pm and the line was out the door so we knew it had to be a must have.. We tried in one day and I will say that it was really good. Some of the best Ive ever had..if you go here definately stop by to cool off, staff was very friendly also..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Awbrown82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Awbrown82,
Thanks for your kind words. I hope you will come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,302 - 6,306 of 8,384 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

The ice cream at Leopold's is definitely good and had many flavors to choose from. We were told this was a 'must do' place. The atmosphere reminded us of the 50's diner's age. It had a wide variety on their menu as to sundaes, etc, but we opted for just a scoop (which is a pretty large scoop) each and sat in the dining area to rest our weary feet for a few minutes. The price was a little high for only one scoop, but then we were at "Leopold's" a Savannah tradition!! We'd go there again and yeah, pay the high price for one scoop. :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KMW-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear KMW-FL,
I’m glad you stopped by! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We’ll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

on a hot day on a bus this was more what we needed in life then all the culture we could see , so we jumped of at this stop got some icecream and a nice cup of coffee , all four of us happy and after that we walked the way back to the beginning of where the bus started

Thank mutter38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear mutter38,
Thanks for stopping in and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting and heard that Leopold's had the best ice cream. It definitely lived up to its reputation

Thank bkse9924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear bkse9924,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit. I hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our group was walking/shopping down the street and walked about 2 miles prior to arriving. We all had different flavors of ice cream and all thought, "mine is the best."

1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrattonLeopold, Owner at Leopold's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Jim L,
And you were all right! Thanks for stopping in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Leopold's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing