We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world ice cream AND cupcakes”

Leopold's Ice Cream
Ranked #4 of 871 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: No trip to Savannah is complete without a visit to Leopold's Ice Cream! Named the #5 Ice Cream in the World, Leopold's is a "Must-Do." You'll enjoy visiting our retro ice cream parlor, complete with old fashioned soda fountain and friendly soda jerks. You'll also experience a little piece of Hollywood in Savannah as you peruse Stratton Leopold's collection of film posters and props from films he has worked on over his 45 plus years in the movie industry! Leopold's Ice Cream was founded in 1919 by three immigrant brothers from Greece. They learned the art of candy and dessert from an uncle who had already settled in America. The brothers perfected the secret formulas and created the world famous Leopold's VeriBest™ ice cream.Our ice cream is made in house, one batch at a time, using family recipes handed down from the Leopold brothers. With our soda fountain creations and more than 20 flavors available at any given time, we've got something just for you!
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out of this world ice cream AND cupcakes”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We'd heard all about Leopold's famous homemade ice creams, but the pictures of its cupcakes running on the in-store ads while we waited in line made us a bit curious. So while we were paying for our ice cream, we asked about the daily cupcake special and learned it was chocolate with caramel icing. We immediately ordered two to go, so we could enjoy them on the way home the next day. Sweet Lord, it was divine! The cupcake was unbelievable!!! The ice cream was excellent make no mistake, but when I go back to Leopold's, it's cupcakes for me, Baby!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mbmom9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,472
    1,549
    497
    61
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good scream”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great ice cream! Cute spot on Broughton. Always a line but it moves very quickly!! We had the Mint Chocolate Chip, Rose Petal and Pistachio. Yum!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank srsnj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream ever”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are in Savannah, you must stop by Leopold's Ice Cream. We were told by the tour trolley guide about it as we passed by, so we walked back up to it. The line was way out the door, but it moves pretty fast. We ordered the Chocolate Chocolate Chip, regular Chocolate, and Honey Almond. Wow, the may be the best Ice cream we have ever had. The one scoop on a sugar cone was plenty for us. It is quaint and crowded, but the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tweetyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We waited in line for about 20-30 mins. I had a scoop of strawberry and a scoop of caramel swirl. Neither were that great. My hubby had choc. choc chip and mocha choc. chip and he loved his. The coolest things were the movie props inside. It is open late which was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dputland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
660 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“One Excellent Hour”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In keeping with the "you haven't visited Savannah unless you have had Leopold's ice cream" perspective, we waited in line for a half hour and sat at a table inside for a half hour. Our time was well spent. The double scoop of chocolate chip ice cream in a cup was dark, rich, sweet, with just a note of bitter overtones; perfect for me. My wife's fancy coffee suited her just fine. The staff behind the counter were all young, polite, costumed for their parts, and fun. The interior of the two room establishment was very well maintained in a manner befitting an old fashioned ice cream parlor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's Ice Cream also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Leopold's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing