We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily expensive”

River Street Sweets
Ranked #3 of 82 Shopping in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Savannah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily expensive”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

They're extraordinarily expensive. Product is decent, but not great.

Keep in mind, pralines are simply sugar, butter milk and pecans. You can make 60+ pralines for $20 worth of ingredients. They're simple to make.

The fudge is okay, but not exceptional.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Savhfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    132
    20
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, GA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Skip the Savannah Candy Kitchen, Head over to River Street Sweets!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

No comparison! As you walk in the door, don't pass up the sample of praline, gets your mouth watering! My favorites: Pralines, Bear claws (pecans, caramel and chocolate), Rocky Road bark, praline pecans. But anything that looks good will be sure to satisfy! Confession: rarely does my haul last until I am home, or even to Statesboro! One last tip, ask for Chris! He's the manager and he's AWESOME!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tour by foot”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Free praline taste. Enjoyed the chocolate covered strawberries, however, it was very difficult to choose between the multitude of varieties!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpster, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Came in for the Pralines, left with Bear Claws!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The ambience was amazing....can you say "kids in a candy store". The smell is awesome! I have to say i was disappointed in the Pralines....i found them dry and grainy. Almost as if they had overcooked. The bear claws however (think Turtles) are yummy!!! Creamy , salty, chocolatey nutty goodness. The staff was efficient and courteous, overall a good visit! Definitely worth the trip!

Helpful?
Thank Billie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had to stop by, even while on a business trip”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friend and I was on a business trip searching for venues for her wedding reception. After our last appt, we put the address of river street in the gps and away we went. When she came back to the car the pralines were still warm and literally melted in your mouth. Very good!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Forgivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Street Sweets also viewed

 

Been to River Street Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing