We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, great price!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B Matthew's Eatery

B Matthew's Eatery
Ranked #28 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Habersham
Description: Serving hungry devotees since 2007, B. Matthew's is a locally loved hidden gem nestled in historic Savannah, GA. Home of one of the oldest standing taverns in the Southeast, this little eatery boasts impressive accolades, awards, & praise for their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, & Brunch.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, great price!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The apple walnut bourbon waffles are to die for!!!! A side of cheese grits, bacon, fruit, OJ ... The only disappointment was I didn't have room for more food. And the price was surprisingly reasonable for the amount of food and its taste! And don't freak out by the long lines. The wait isn't nearly as long as you might think. And if you're willing to eat at one of the outdoor patios, the wait time is even shorter. And if you're driving, there's plenty of street parking across the street and along the side street in front of the restaurant's outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuseman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    451
    135
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A convenient, casual and comfortable place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Friends were in town and asked me to find a place downtown that was good but only required shorts and flip flops. I checked out the previous reviews on TripAdvisor and made reservations. We were very pleased - attentive bartender/wait staff were quick to attend to our party of 8, cocktails were great and the food solid. Everyone had a great time and loved their meal. We even took the short walk to let the newbie's enjoy Leopold's for dessert!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ERRTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch on Bay street.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by as this restuarant was one block from our hotel. There was a short wait as it was a late Sunday morning. Brunch was great. Between the two of us we had the classic breakfast and fried tomatoes egg benedict. Service was great and another bonus was the outside tables which made this spot pup friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank art g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish I had room for dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Apple walnut bourbon waffles, Fried Green Tomato Eggs Benedict, Biscuits and Gravy. . . Need I say more? The menu and food were amazing, even the fresh Arnold Palmers! Plus, it's in a historic building complete with ghost story shared by server. Plan to wait but it's worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank pjfinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here for a Saturday brunch and I can't say enough good things. Our waitress was great - she even gave us the historic background of the building. We tried the fried green tomato eggs Benedict (to die for), the apple walnut bourbon waffle and the biscuits and gravy. Everything came out perfectly and for a great price -the whole meal was $30 including a few glasses of homemade Arnold Palmer! Highly recommend you stop in for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank setopak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B Matthew's Eatery also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to B Matthew's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing