We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to you top AWESOME”
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
West Bend, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How to you top AWESOME”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our first visit was at the suggestion of our concierge. We were seated outside, and the staff was wonderful. My husband has special dietary needs, and the waiter and kitchen went over and above to meet his requirements. The food was beyond delicious...so good, in fact, that we cancelled reservations at another restaurant later in the week, to go back to Vic's, and we were not disappointed. We had a totally different staff, (hostess and waiters) and got the same outstanding service and food. I can't wait to go back to Savanna.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,354
    1,075
    368
    150
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We didn't have a reservation and so sat at the bar. Actually, it's a very good location in Vic's. You can see down to the river and the pianist & singer are right there! The food and service was excellent. I had the shrimp & grits and my husband had the meatloaf dinner. Both were delicious! We'll definitely eat there again the next time we travel to Savannah.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpstateDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best. Sandwich. Ever.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We've been to Savannah two years in a row and we always go to Vic's for lunch (its a little cheaper at lunchtime). Our server, Robert, was so sweet and funny! Their Fried Green Tomato BLT with Goat Cheese is absolutely AMAZING. It was one of my favorite meals, ever! Their house wine is completely reasonable and delicious! Sitting on the second floor gives you perfect views of the river through big floor-to-ceiling windows. I will go back every time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Darn near Perfect”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Great Service. Appetizers and Entrees were delicious. Our second trip to Savannah and they were on our 'must-do' list and didn't disappoint. Highly recommend the Brie and Mushroom stuffed pork chop. Also the Beef Wellington and Filet were delicious. Thanks Vic's... See you next time.

Helpful?
Thank KevTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful in Every Aspect”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Every time we're in Savannah we try to find new restaurants to eat at, but we always save room for one night at Vic's. We love the ambiance (nice without being too over the top), and the food is always delicious. The staff is courteous, and we appreciate that it can be the perfect place for a romantic meal for two or comfortable enough to eat with family. Speaking of family, whenever we have family or friends visiting, we always send them to Vic's.

P.S., Spots with a river view are minimal, so if you really want to dine with a view, make a reservation early and specifically ask to sit near the window!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesstagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing