We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Restaurant had it all great food great wine selection piano player. Had three floors with entrance off River St and Bay St. Waiter Patrick offered good suggestion on the food and wine

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,166
    1,005
    346
    134
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have eatten at Vic's every time I have been to Savannah and have NEVER been disappointed. The setting, service and food are all superb!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner Dissapoints.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Made reservations here for our 15th anniv. When we arrived we were seated in the lounge right by a tv playing football and people including the help pushing past our table to catch the game. My husband complained but we were not moved. Never again.
Food good but to me overrated. Fried green tomatoes had heavy corn breading on them and were topped with so much heavy flavored items like goat cheese which I love you really couldn't taste the tomatoes at all.
They were nice to send us free champagne and a great free dessert to share. Wish I had gone elsewhere though. The table was extremely uncomfortable as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bearflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Bad Night at Vic's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Vic's on the River came with strong recommendation from the concierge of our hotel. With a view of the river, the setting was perfect. Once we were seated, we waited and waited for our waiter, John, to get to us. When he did, he asked for our order which we were prepared to give. More time passed before our wedge salads were served. When the meal came, mine was a trio of salmon, scallops and shrimp which turned out to be fairly good. But my companion's lamb shank with risotto was without any flavor and had to be sent back. The manager did take the item off the bill. The real annoyance was that our server did not tell us of the long list of specials available at Vic's that evening. As we were eating our dinner, the server at the next table was listing the special's for another patron. This seems to have been all the fault of the server. But because there are so many fine restaurants to choose from in Savannah, Vic's will not get a 2nd chance from me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amyhhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixon, ky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing amazing amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had the meatloaf and seafood special of scallops shrimp and salmon. So amazing. It was our honeymoon and they even brought us a special dessert that had congratulations written on it. Above and beyond service. Didn't even ask for it. Very impressed .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brandiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing