We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time eating here. I was in town for a conference and eight of us decided to try Vic's. The service was great, food was very good and the drinks were even better. I had the scallops and they were yummy! I plan to go back the next time I am in Savannah

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ans695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,232
    1,026
    354
    142
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best appetizers ever, but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stacked Lump Crabmeat, Avocado, Fresh Peaches and Greens served on a plate covered in Salad Greens and Sliced Tomatoes...YUM! Followed by a Brie and Wild Mushroom Stuffed Fried Pork Chop. What a treat to find a restaurant that doesn't serve the same old things...and and where the food tastes scrumptious too! Unfortunately this was a last minute decision. We called one hour ahead for reservations. I'd like to think that was why we were seated at a table in the bar where it was quite noisy. i don't know if it was more quiet in the main dining room, but something to ask about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We started with both fried green tomatoes and crawfish beignets which were great, wedge salads, also great, and she the shrimp with grits (says they were very good) and I the flounder with sausage potato hash, also great! And did I mention some of the best service anywhere? Seriously, I travel and eat in restaurants a lot and have experienced both ends of this spectrum; the staff here are world class great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've just returned from a great weekend in Savannah with friends. Knowing that the city is full of excellent restaurants, we wanted to make sure we chose a good one for our last night in town. We made a reservation at Vic's for dinner and could not have enjoyed the meal more! The appetizers were delicious- most notably the fried green tomatoes were incredible. For our main courses, we had crab cakes, scallops, local flounder and a filet. Everyone shared tastes of their meals and we all agreed, simply fantastic! Of the four, the local flounder was to die for. I'd drive back to Savannah just for that entrée. It was simply the best piece of fish I have ever tasted in a restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely and service was perfect. I'm so sad to see previous reviewers did not have as good of an experience. I can only speak for my own and will happily tell anyone it was one of the best dining experiences I have had. On a really good note, you can take your own wine to dinner without a corking charge! ( up to two bottles). Unbelievable!! This restaurant should definitely be on your list when in Savannah!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here one night after we couldn't get a reservation at Old Pink House and one of the trolley shuttle drivers told us Vics was his favorite and we were glad we ended up here. The service was great, the food was just so so perfectly yum. They serve hot fresh biscuits with orange marmalade…to die for. We started with fried green tomatoes because we felt while in Rome and they were quite good but we didn't finish them--very big and fried so heavy and fatty. I got the fried chicken over pasta primavera and it was great. My sister had shrimp and grits and she said it was surprisingly good--had a bar-b-que sauce. Dessert was peach trio and sorbet sampler. Both good but not must haves in my opinion. This meal was fresh and alittle different and hot and delicious. Dining room was pretty and elegant without feeling stuffy. Just right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nothistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing