We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception Location”
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
omaha, nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Location”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I attended a wedding reception on the top floor of Vics on the River. It is a fabulous venue and I would strongly recommend for any event. It required minimal decoration and looked amazing. The food was so good and the service was even better. For a historic building, it had all of the amenities you would need including an elevator for elderly guests. My only concern was the length of time it took to serve a 4 course meal. It was all very nicely prepared, good temperature, etc. but the time it took to serve each course was much longer than anticipated. Overall it was a great venue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeskahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,354
    1,075
    368
    150
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drinks”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We got there a few minutes before our reservation and went to the bar for a quick drink. Great Service, and great atmosphere.
It can get a bit crowded in there, but once you are sitting at your seat, you are comfortable in your own little area.
The Filet was amazing, and the Shrimp&Grits were fantastic (although, they use BBQ sauce with their shrimp, and I wasn't crazy about that).
This place is right on River Street, just next to the Hyatt. Perfect location to get into, and you will NOT be disappointed on the food. You'll spend some money here, but the food and the atmosphere are well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I went to Vic's based on all the wonderful reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We were dining late in the afternoon, hadn't had lunch, but didn't want a full dinner entree either. Vic's has two dinner sandwiches on their dinner menu as alternatives to pricier full entrees. My husband got a hamburger with fries and I got the fried flounder sandwich with Mac and cheese. They were both wonderful, and such large portions we could hardly finish! We were seated by a window and enjoyed looking out onto the streets of Savannah. Service was very good and we received our meals in a short amount of time. We enjoyed it so much, I treated myself to the Vic's on the River cookbook that is sold at the restaurant...the recipes look really great, and I can't wait to try some of them at home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ga2rgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food and service but room was warm”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and i dined here during our visit to Savannah. We found the room to be a bit noisy and warm. The food was wonderful and we had the best calamari either of us have ever eaten. You can enter from the river side of the property and ride the elevator to the fourth floor or directly off the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank careyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice relaxing restaurant”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

With big high ceilings and wide windows, this restaurant is bright, airy and inviting. We had a table by the window and front seat view of the huge tankers pulling into the port... It may not sound romantic but it is rather impressive all the same! With cocktails at 8.75$ and live piano music playing, we could have stayed for hours. Dinner was however average which is a shame as the decor and surroundings set the scene for something more .... I had chicken livers for starters which was rather salty.. And the entree of grilled seafood was something I could have easily thrown together on the grill at home! However this did not deter us from popping by for a quick salad at the bar the following day... The vibe of this place will do that to you!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesbohnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing