We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome meal and service”
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 869 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
Reevesville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome meal and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I highly recommend Vic's on the River. The food was exceptional as was the service. We tried the crab cake, crawfish and oyster rockefeller as appetizers We had the mixed seafood grill and ribeye as main course. Everything on the plate was delicious. No room to try dessert. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the river. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvsville71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,312
    1,064
    366
    146
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This visit was not the first and they continue to excel. It was a good thing we were not in a hurry and a bad thing it was Sunday. Service was slow which was bad, but when available was well done. The menu is extensive, which was good since they were out of lamb shank and flounder. (The waiter said never come on Sunday - so I repeat his sentence).

Drinks are very well sized, unusually so.

Our table loved the fried green tomatoes, onion soup, scallops, fried oysters, and the shrimp and grits. All of which arrived much too slowly, but were delicious.

Seek the back room, close to the right most window so you can go out on the balcony when the large container ships enter or exit the upstream port. And don't go on Sunday. Just go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A.MAZ.ING!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

All I can say is Wow! This was one of the best meals my husband and I have eaten, and we eat out a LOT.
Our server was Matt, and he was terrific. Unobtrusive, but attentive, and a great salesperson!
The atmosphere is great, and if you can get a table on the river side, your views would be out of this world.
We shared the crab cake appetizer, which was fantastic. My husband had the seafood mix for his entree, and I had the surf and turf special. Both were terrific, cooked to the right temperature, great portion sizes, and well-seasoned. The sides with both our entrees were even incredible! For dessert, we shared chocolate cake and strawberry shortcake. Both were spectacular.
We will definitely return on our next visit, and will tell all our friends to make Vic's a must on their Savannah dining lists.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelfromAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Didn't know where to go in Savannah”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Read the menu while walking the tourist trap walkway. But it sounded good. We decided to dine there and the food, ambience, and service were all great. Loved that the table next to ours had a very elderly gentleman with his wife and daughter and granddaughter. All dressed to the nines. It warmed my heart. I would eat here again in a heart beat. Special place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Rosemary barbeque sauce..hmmmm!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful meal last week at Vic's. We wanted one special meal while in Savannah and I always use Trip Advisor to find just the right place (I don't work for TA). We had a perfect table right in the window. Our waiter, Lucien was fantastic. It was my third shrimp and grits in our 3 days in Savannah and by far the best. I am going to figure out how to make that rosemary barbeque sauce that went over the grits and shrimp. Why don't we have grits up north, I love them, Anyhow, the meal was wonderful, Great bottle of wine. Coffee. We didn't have desert, but this restaurant lived up to our expectations and we left contented with smiles on our faces.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing