We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinning at Vic's on the River” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic's is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic's menu reflects Savannah's Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... Where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 3:30-6pm
Jamesburg, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinning at Vic's on the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by other visitors and The Food Network.
It was a beautiful night and we had reservations but when we arrived we requested to sit outside so we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Savannah.
Adrienne was our waitress and all the staff was great. The food was very good and some of the dishes that passed our table were so appetizing it was hard to decide what to order.

The grilled scallops were great and so was the Southern Style Pasta Carbonara.
If you visit Savanna try to make here, it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,165
    1,005
    346
    134
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was good, service not so....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food and ambiance at Vics' was outstanding... the Piano player's music totally enjoyable, and he was very sociable. I think our server just was inexperienced, or having a VERY bad night, as he was not attentive at all, and not very good at making suggestions, either. I would ask to sit in the back room, not the bar area, also... as it was a little too loud for my liking. Otherwise, a good meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too stuffy for our taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friends and I were in Savannah for our 50th birthday and we decided to have dinner at Vic's, based on recommendations. We were greeted coolly at the front desk when we stepped off the elevator and it only got worse. We went outside where all of the tables were available and asked if they could seat 6 of us for dinner. They said they couldn't move any tables together (they were all arranged as 4 tops). They were very indifferent to us. We went back into the restaurant, preparing to leave, when we were approached again and told we could be seated outside after all and they were sorry we were told that. My friend ordered a bottle of champagne and they brought her the wrong bottle. She waited a while after she returned it and was then told they were out of the bottle she had ordered. Dinner took a while. I ordered the grouper and it was overcooked. For a $74 bill (which included a glass of wine, an appetizer, and a bad margarita), it was a big disappointment. Next time, we will pick a place with a more welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“GREAT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Atmosphere great we ate outside arrived on a Saturday night local person recommended we had no reservations had to wait just a bit and was able to sit outside. Amazing food and wait staff is a must go to if in Savannah.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Amazing Crab Stuffed Wild Shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

What can I say ... the atmoshpere is understated elegance, the service was perfect, the view was lovely, and the food was amazing. I would go out of my way to eat at this restaurant again. Two friends in two different states said I had to eat here when in Savannah, Ga and they were so right!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing