We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Greek Food.”
Review of Olympia Cafe

Olympia Cafe
Ranked #27 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Olympia Cafe has been a Savannah landmark for over 20 years. Located on historic River Street, we only serve fresh, local seafood and homemade Greek specialties. Our Whole Snapper and Kalamari are famous! We also serve 32 Flavors of Ice Cream and housemade Greek desserts, along with Espresso and Cappucchino and a large selection of Greek wines.Join us for impeccable service and delicious food while watching the ships make their way to the sea.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love Greek Food.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love Greek Food. Finding this in the sea of fried shrimp and chicken was a bit like finding an oasis in a desert.
I had an excellent slice of spinach pie, and a souvlaki which I took away to my Hotel. It seemed that the atmosphere was really that of a Taverna and I am sure that a plate or two would be smashed every night. It was big and very cheery and noisy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    184
    59
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed the gyro's. They were extra large and reasonably priced. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. This is on River St. right by the river ferry stop. Great place to watch the river traffic while you eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuntersOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pit stop for lunch”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Enjoyed a tasty wrap at the Olympia Café. Right off of River Street, it's a great place to stop in for beverages on a hot June day. I opted for a Gyro, which was handcrafted to perfection. Friendly staff and great lunch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good greek food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Large menu, great greek salad and their own dressing. Located on River street close to lots of stuff. The souvlaki was really good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank neckbonepieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Okay, it is on River Street and very crowded. The restaurant is small and you can be thrown off by both the gelato stand next to it and the crowds around it. That said, we had a wonderful time. Our server, Richard, was very knowledgeable about both the food and the wine. We were looking for Greek comfort food and we hit it big-time. The grape leaves are rolled by the 83 year-old mother of the owner, who also makes many of the traditional dishes. The wine list has some very interesting selections. We were very pleased by the service, the food, and the atmosphere. Give this one a try when you want something different from the standard fried seafood places all over River Street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympia Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Olympia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing