We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came Close”

Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub & Grill
Ranked #47 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pawcatuck, Ct USA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Came Close”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I do not give out five dots of excellent unless it is truly that, but this place came close. Great atmosphere, the bartender was helpful, and the Guinness was great. We had sandwiches at the bar, and all was tasty, if you are watching your weight, beware of the French fries, they are good, so tell the bartender not to put them on your plate. I would return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    310
    84
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect pub experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We visited a lot of pubs in Scotland and Ireland, and this place brought back a lot of memories. The food was really good, we had the salmon, the fish and chips, and the shrimp and corn chowder. Everything was great. Try the potato scones, you won't be disappointed. They looked to have some great brews on tap, but unfortunately, I was driving. If you're looking for a filling bite or a few pints, this is the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cvdmehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Let your Scottish out”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stumbled in for a quick beer. Decided to snack, as well. The decor is Scots. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. PJ, the manager, is very nice and takes care that all runs well.
I had scotch eggs, meat pie, and onion rings. Very good. Of course, Guiness is on tap.
You will enjoy it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tnreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make time for this place...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Kinda off the beaten path from City Market, this place has mildly priced drinks and greats apps. The place is small but that gives it the pub feeling. Make sure you try the brie, the whiskey sauce is awesome. Also if you are military, police, or fire, bring a patch and they will add it to their wall. Service is great and they go out of their way to make conversation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anjs_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Hit the spot and then some!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a VERY late lunch here at 3p on a Saturday. It was busy, but not packed out like it is a night. We had a polite and kind waitress.

My husband and I both ordered the cock-a-leeky soup and a grilled cheese. My son ordered the mac-n-cheese bites.

The mac-n-cheese bites werent really good for kids. They had bits of jalapeno pepper so it made them too hot for little kids.

The cock-a-leeky soup was SUPERB! It was so good I could have swam in it :-)

The grilled cheese was also super yummy. My son ate most of mine and then ordered himself another!

We visit here often and love this place. You should go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rfuchs0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub & Grill also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing