We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Staybridge Suites! Beautiful location right on Bay St overlooking the live oaks by the river. Staff was very friendly. The beds were comfy and the rooms were very nice with a small kitchenette. (They're on the small side.) We were lucky to received a room overlooking Bay St. I would request this since the interior rooms do not have a view. No pool for the kids...but we enjoyed this aspect since it was an adult trip. Not many children were at the hotel. It's pet friendly. Free use of laundry facilities. The breakfast buffet was delicious! A great way to start off the day. During the week an evening social is provided with various light meals and drinks.
On the downside...it was really hot and humid in the hallways. Maybe because of the indoor courtyard? The A/C in our room leaked the first night. We were too tired to request a room change and the next day it was fixed. Parking is $12 extra per night. If you're lucky, get one of the FEW spots behind the hotel. Otherwise you have to drive to the top floor of the nearby parking garage. We even saw hotel staff smoking outside waiting for someone to leave so they could park in the lot. So your chances of parking there aren't too great.
I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location, great value for the money. We had a great week in Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BYTchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    326
    122
    48
    43
See reviews for
251
410
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very economical. The staff was awesome, and there was a concierge on site everyday to help with all your needs, including restaurant and tour reservations. Free full hot breakfast daily and free happy hour beverages in the afternoon. The room was clean, large, and had a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, electric stove, double kitchen sink, and auto dishwasher. The location was within walking distance to most everything. One block from River Street. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovegooddining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for one week, a mix of business and vacation. I think this hotel is highly undervalued. The rooms are great - nice sheets, comforters, great beds. The bathrooms are nice and modern. The rooms have small kitchens with dishwasher, fridge, microwave. Huge windows with plantation shutters. Every morning a hot breakfast is included for free - eggs, waffles, sausage, cereal, fruit and more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, right across from the river front and a few blocks from all major sites.

A couple of things . . . it is $12 to park. Also, there are some rooms that face the interior courtyard and can be a but dark and claustrophobic - the rooms facing outside are great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

300? rooms and only 4 handicap parking places!!! What's up with that?? Had to use the parking garage they are contracting with which is 1/2 block away and was required to park on the 3rd floor. Complained to the parking attendant about being handicapped and needed a 1st floor space due to being handicapped. "Staybridge parks 3rd floor only handicap or not " was his reply. Public pays $10/day there, but Staybridge charges you $12/day and you have to park on 3rd floor. I complained to the front desk about it and they just shrugged it off, like "No big deal - I'm not listening, and we're not going to do a thing about it".
Concierge was GREAT and most helpful. Should be training the other staff!
Breakfast staff RUDE and was late putting out breakfast all 3 days we were there (understaffed). I kindly let them know they were out of coffee and...OMG!! What an attitude!!! Guests joked about it from table to table. Couldn't have toast because the breaker kept tripping due to grits and sausage gravy on the same breaker which would have been fine IF they were hot (breaker tripping again) Would have been great to be able to warm with a microwave, but didn't have one. Not enough outlets?? Would loved to have had a waffle, but machine was broken. : (
It was as if management never ate there, didn't have any oversight and didn't want to be bothered with it. Much could be learned here from the proverb "You get what you inspect, not what you expect" .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear JayNicholls,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Based upon my fellow trip advisers' recommendations, my wife and I stayed here during recent trip to Savannah. The location is ideal to the old historic district. A "free" shuttle bus that runs every 20 minutes throughout the historic district was only a block or two away. The hotel was very nice and had all the amenities you'd want in your room, but rooms were smaller than other Staybridge hotels due to it being in an old historic bldg. The only negatives were that the elevator was very slow, the free breakfast was mediocre (though typical for most hotels), and the hallways (where you have to stand while waiting for the slow elevator) were uncomfortably hot. Bottom line, would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The accommodations are good BUT the staff are rude! The breakfast staff was especially rude. They treat you like they are paying you to stay! Feel free to stay, but be ready for the abuse!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank addie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear addie2,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location convenient. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

awesome value, helpful staff, great location, we were so impressed with the Staybridge! best free breakfast ever. we are big fans and will come back for sure. the staff went above and beyond my expectations and should be recognized for it. thanks for a great three nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Property: Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Address: 301 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Savannah
#25 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable @ the Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District. The Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District is located @ Bay and Lincoln Streets in the Heart of the Savannah Historic District , two blocks from the Holiday Inn Mulberry and one block from the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District. Just steps from our hotel you can explore famous River Street, Factor s Walk, Old Savannah Tours or indulge in the shops and restaurants of City Market River Street. Make your reservations early, but don t miss Paula Deen 's famous Lady & Sons Restaurant. Our location offers near proximity to I-95, the Savannah Hilton Head Int l Airport (SAV), the Savannah Port Authority, Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD), Tybee Island beaches & numerous corporations including JCB, Gulfstream, Flight Safety, and Memorial Health.The Staybridge Suites offers suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, Cable TV w/HBO, free wired & wireless Internet and direct dial phone number w/ personalized voicemail. Other features include 24 hour business center with free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, free deluxe breakfast buffet & evening Sundowner receptions (Tuesday-Thursday). Staybridge Suites is a member of the IHG family of brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing