We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel is right off the bridge coming into Savannah. Walking distance from River Walk , City Market , Lady and Sons (Paula Deen), visitors center and tour bus area. Room was good size, nice shower , great mattress and pillows, decent breakfast, pleasant staff. The guy I thought was a concierge turned out to be salesman for Old Savannah Tours but he did get us reservation at Lady and Sons. Had read previous comments re parking, but did not find it to be a big problem.The hotel lot was full and we were directed to the Embassy Suites garage , 2nd floor. Our room key got us in and out. It was not far to walk. Our room was quiet but not much of a view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were in Savannah for a long weekend to attend a friends wedding. This hotel had a block of rooms available at a discounted price as hotels will on such occasions. Couldn't have been happier with the service the friendly staff provided. The complimentary breakfast (which, in my opinion the rate demands) offered many options and was high quality. Location is very good with most of what Savannah has to offer (outside of it's obvious charm) within a 5-20 minute walk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in this friendly, enchanting city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great experience at this hotel for 4 high school girlfriends gathering for mini-reunion. Clean rooms, good breakfast options, great location - easy walking distance around historic Savannah. Hotel staff very responsive and helpful for questions or extra services we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife & I stayed at Hampton Inn & Suites in February of 2014. Our overall experience was positive and we had no regrets staying there for a 7 day period.

We were able to start each day with a fulfilling breakfast in a nice dining area of the hotel. The breakfast was included in the price of our stay. (For those traveler spending only a night or two, the type of eggs and meat changes on a daily basis.) The rest of the wide selection remains constant.
After a day touring & exploring we would return to fresh cookies in the lobby area. Coffee was always available.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and was quiet except for some of the traffic noise coming from a busy street below. For us it wasn't much of a problem. The heating / cooling unit was a little noisy at times while listening to the TV.
The bed was comfortable.
There was no bathtub for those that might prefer one.

The hotel concierge was very friendly & informative.

The Savannah Visitors Center was a short walk from this hotel. This is a meeting place for city tours and shuttles.
We also like the location because it is about half way between the two ends of the Historical District. One day we would spend our time on the Forsyth Park side and the next we would walk around the Savannah River area.

The bus station is near the back of the Hampton Inn. My wife & I chose to ride the non-stop Airport Express Bus (Route 100X) for $1.50 each back to our flight home. I wish I was aware of this before paying $36.00 for a taxi when we first arrived.

Room Tip: n the Visitors Center parking lot a shuttle bus is available to take tourists to Tybee Island. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I traveled to Savannah with 8 women for a program at the birthplace of the founder of Girl Scouts of the USA, Juliette Gordon Low. We had a lot of specific needs for billing due to arrival and departure times. Melinda Bunheirao, General Manager, did an amazing job of making sure everyone was charged appropriately and was very professional and courteous in doing so. Our rooms were very nicely appointed, clean, and all of our rooms were "together" as I had requested. Microwave and refrigerator in every room were helpful. Breakfast included with our stay was filled with anything hot, cold, and in between, we could have needed to start our days off right. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Savannah especially because of the location and the value. Girl Scout troops heading for Savannah should consider staying here because it is a safe location that is a manageable walk to the Birthplace. The only complaints I have are that they do not have a hot tub and their "shop" really needs help! In house bar would have nice as well, but that is not Hampton Inn style. I cannot speak to parking as we did not have a car. Also, the concierge was most helpful when we needed transportation to Tybee Island.

Room Tip: Pool side of the building is off the street otherwise you do have some traffic noise. However, VER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our first stay at a "in city" hotel and I was a little concerned about the location, but this Hampton was great, as most Hampton Inn's are. Everything from the antique floor indicator for the elevators to the very high ceilings were reminiscent of the golden age of hotels. The only reason this location did not get a FIVE was the parking, which if you are lucky enough to get a space and can walk to where you want to go (which was our case) is not a problem. There is valet parking available for $15.00 which would be well worth the fee if you were planing on being in and out for the day. DO NOT let the parking keep you from staying at this conveniently located, friendly, wonderfully restored hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishpkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this unbelievable hotel. It truly is like a full service Hilton, except the missing restaurant and bar. The front desk associate William, was so helpful with our questions and suggesting various sites to visit as well as restaurants. Also, Maggie in sales spent time at our breakfast table and went over the layout of the city. Maggie is surely in the right position. The decor of the hotel is do reminiscent to Southern Charm. You will not be diss appointed with your stay here. FYI, when walking back at night from River Walk I'd suggest walking up The street before MLK. We didn't and came upon some seedy area a block before hotel. I'd stay here again it's fantastic.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PopPopfromQtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVHIS, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our property! We are flattered by your kind words. We practice customer appreciation and satisfaction everyday, so we are absolutely delighted to hear that our staff was able to contribute true southern hospitality to your Savannah experience. We are counting down the days until your next stay! Thank you.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $151 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing