We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hampton experience in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is what I would call an elite Hampton Inn. It is in the Savannah Historic District at the corner of Oglethorpe and MLK, Jr. It is very close to City Market and to the bars and restaurants on Congress. It is also very near SCAD. The interior of the hotel was nice and was kept very clean. The room was nice, nothing exotic, but clean with a comfortable bed, nice TV, mini-fridge and microwave. Housekeeping was pleasent and did a good job with the room. We didn't get the benefits our Gold status provided but all in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Savannah has a great choice of hotels and this was well located but you can get closer to the river which is where most of the action is. Although this hotel is only a 10 minute walk and has everything you need.
There's a gym (4 pieces of equipment) and a small pool.
Breakfast was poor. I had to eat at a table outside under an umbrella and the rain as there were no free tables inside. Cutlery and plates were plastic. The apple juice tasted as if it had been watered down. Pastries, cereal and waffles were in abundance with one fruit salad. No yoghurt, meats, cheese. I expected more for the price of the room.
This was my first time at a Hampton Inn but I'll explore other options next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great place to stay. Convenient, within walking distance of the waterfront and historic district. Just a block from the visitors center and one of the museums. Center of Savannah Center of Art & Design. Highlt recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near to SCAD for the freshman orientation weekend. You can walk to the Savannah Civic Center, the SCAD Museum and the student housing facilities. Also, very near to Market City and the River Street, where you can find many art galleries, dining, shopping and entertainment for the whole family. If you rent a car, the hotel has three parking lots with in/out privileges for a reasonable daily fee. The hotel was full and I always find a parking space. The room and bathroom was clean and employees were very helpful and friendly. If I have to return to Savannah, I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Without a doubt the staff at this Hampton Inn are exceptional and always make me feel welcome and at home when I stay here.

My room this time has a comfortable bed, microwave, small fridge and is still very spacious and comes with free Wi-Fi.

Although this property is in an area of Savannah that I am not to sure I would feel comfortable walking around at night, it is still within easy walking distance of most of the city's attractions.

The starting point for trolley tours is less than a five minute walk away and a gas station is practically right next door.

The Hampton Inn does offer a nice breakfast that you may want to get down early for on the weekends. During one stay I waited at least 15 minutes to make a waffle.

My only reservation about staying here are my concerns about straying too far from the hotel at night unless you are driving. Otherwise, choosing this property is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely visit to the Hampton Inn located on Oglethorpe in Savannah, GA. The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of value and quality. The only problem is that one of the hotel parking lots requires you to cross a busy street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I ve stayed at this Hampton many times and have always enjoyed my stay. Rooms are nice and clean, free wifi, great breakfast, and mini fridge/microwave in the room are some of the reasons I like staying at this HI. Ten minute walk to the heart of Savannah and to a lot of SCAD buildings. Front desk staff are always pleasant and accommodating.

I recommend The Distillery if you like hand craft beers from all over. 5 min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $151 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing