We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Staff Could Use An Attitude Adjustment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel they tried to give us, what we would consider, the worst room in the hotel. It was on the first floor right next to the front desk. We made our reservation almost a year in advance and had requested a room on a high floor facing MLK Blvd. When I mentioned this the front desk clerk seemed visibly and verbally annoyed. She reluctantly gave us a room on the fifth floor facing W. Oglethorpe Ave. This was OK and we had a nice view of the Talmadge Memorial Bridge. Parking was a problem due to construction. I have a handicap placard and found MANY people parking in handicap spots, including the blue striped area for vans, that didn't have a placard or special license plate. The rest of our stay was pleasant and the breakfast was very good. We would probably stay here again despite the "tude" we received on check-in.

There is an excellent place to eat about two blocks away called The Distillery. They have a great beer selection and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you want the historic feeling of Savannah this is the hotel to stay in. The lobby decor and the ambiance are impeccable as well as the service. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and historical sites. I cannot say enough "greatness" about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this Hampton Inn. Our room on the first night was on the street side and since we're light sleepers the street noise was too loud for us. (The hotel is located at a busy intersection) The following morning we asked if we could be moved to the other side of the hotel and Ashley at the front desk graciously granted our request. We didn't even have to move our luggage. We just had to pack everything up and they moved it to our new room. That way we could enjoy our day exploring the town and not have to keep running back and forth to the hotel. This hotel is conveniently located on the edge of the historic district which is a good location for walking. We only ate the hotel breakfast one morning because we saved all our calories for the local fare (thanks Mrs. Wilkes)!. The parking was not great but it was only $5 a day while most of the other hotels were $20 a day. We had a great experience while visiting Savannah and hope to return one day soon and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, request a room on the parking lot side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Although at the edge of the historic district, the hotel is convenient to the visitor's center where the hop-on/off tours begin. There is also free transportation from the visitor's center. The hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant and the inside appearance was pleasant. A good hotel buffet breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were warmly welcomed. The location of the hotel in the middle of town in the historic district was great for getting to all places. The quality of the staff was excellent. Our room was up to date and very enjoyable. The hot breakfast was so good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Located away from the riverfront this hotel was still only a short walk away. Unfortunately the hotel was hosting a girl scout group that meant there was lots of people and lots of noise at all hours. The parking situation was an issue as there was only space for a fraction of the guests to park. Others had to park in a lot that did not feel secure down the street. As it turned out our car was okay but it did create some tension. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Satisified with every aspect of our stay at the hotel: clean and spacious room, location within walking distance to Savannah's historcial sites and very helpful staff. The staff was so helpful in making recommendatons as to what to see in Savannah. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $151 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing