We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay at the confederate house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Confederate House
Ranked #21 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay at the confederate house”
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Confederate House. At first we were a bit put off, as it is at the far end of historic Savannah. However, it is across from Forsythe Park which is a great place to jog or walk for exercise. From the outside, it looked very old and in need of work, but as soon as we walked in all was good. The parking is in the back and very convenient. It is well lit when you come in after dark. The place was spotless. Very clean. The hostess was nice and gave us info when we asked. Though it is on the far edge of downtown, it is an easy walk to the middle of the city. There is always cake, coffee, tea, sodas and water on the first floor available to guests.

Our room was large and spotless. the bed was very comfortable. It had a large closet. (side note: they do need to add hangers for pants. they had plenty of padded hangers--a very nice touch--but no hangers for pants). The plasma TV was fun when you wanted to watch. i also enjoy the divan that was outside our room in the hall foyer. it rained one afternoon for a bit and i laid on the divan for an hour or so and read and napped. the Bathroom was spotless. I would have liked to have 2 large towels per person instead of just one and it does need more towel racks as there is no place to hang towels once you use them. also, i was surprised that the cups were styrofoam. it would have been a nice touch to have nicer cups in the bathroom.

Breakfast is served beautifully. lovely china and silver. It is nice that the hostess eats breakfast with you. the food was OK..nothing great. very generic-mediocore OJ and ok eggs or pancakes. nothing special but adequate. i did enjoy though that there was fresh fruit each day.

An added bonus is the hotel that is located next door to the confederate house. It is a five star hotel. ( i think it is called The Mansion). they have a great jazz bar and it was wonderful to go there, have a few drinks and walk next door to our room.

  • Liked — spacious clean room and location was good.
  • Disliked — food for breakfast can use improvement
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    14
    19
    19
See reviews for
17
127
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Colleen,
We all had a very enjoyable time! The Company was Great, and Please tell, Rosalind, Hello, from all of us. Her breakfast all were superb! Everything was in place. All we needed, was always there waiting for us. The Coffee, Tea, Cakes and Cookies. The Ice Box was always full of bottled water and Soft drinks. We did not lack for anything! Our rooms were cleaned and fresh new towels were always replaced for us, each time we left, and then returned. Showers, HUGE Showers, also each room had a bathub. Hot water always was available! We rented the whole house, all 3 bedrooms, so I know from experience our trip was a Wonderful one and you made our Anniversary Complete! The Mother's both say, hello, and hope you are doing well. I hope you received my package in the mail. Until we see you again, Thanks for everything!
Bonnie Hamilton

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnietiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2007

An expected two night stay at the Confederate House extended to three. Why? Because we loved the House and the town. Our last minute reservation was handled with ease. The Davis room is spectacular. All of the staff treated us royally from Innkeepper Collen to the housekeepper. One of the nices B and B stays I have had.

  • Liked — The Inn keeper
  • Disliked — No Elavator
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Civilwarbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We saw online a gorgeous old inn..restored with attention to detail..This is what we got for our $168..(including tax)

1.Arriving hot and sweaty in a sweltering July day, the concierge was unavailble at the front door. There were hand written mis-spelled instructions on how to find her.. taped to the front door. We weren't even sure it was the right place because the sign was down and there were no numbers on the door and it certainly didn't look like the photo we saw on line. I went around back to the "lovely backyard", rang the bell..waited..She came out and greeted me, said she would go inside and get the paperwork..Now what kind of greeting is that to make a guest wait outside in the broiling sun..I was livid by that time.. She gave us a "parking card" made from an old file folder she had ripped apart..yeah..like that would keep us from getting towed..

2. The concierge was no help at all as far as giving us direction about the inn..She actually disappeared after the paperwork was done...She never told us how to contact her if we needed anything

3. No hot water in our tub or shower..no bottled water in the fridge..the piano was sadly in need of tuning..Limited tv stations ( the least of our concerns) There was a large hole that leaked sand in the fireplace mantle which had an inch of dust on it..Some of the towels must have been salvaged from the Civil War since they were so tattered..

4.The breakfast...no orange juice..The cook said "she didn't get around to it" the night before..There were grits..plain..hash browns..plain..no eggs of any kind..The sausage (some large hunks of something) was so salty I couldn't eat it. The biscuits should have been an embarrassment to them since these are supposed to be the big selling point..They were crunchy on the bottom and tasteless..Gravy was made from a packet and the only fruit offered was some seedy watermelon. The concierge whined thru the entire breakfast about her health, her doctors. how much it costs to run a b and b and how unfair life was, how exhausting all of this was. She also said people complained about her food and she wanted us to write glowing reports..Get some therapy, woman or get out of the business!!.All I wanted to do was get away!!!!

5. The tackiest event happened as were were preparing to leave..The cook came up to our room talking about her cooking and the how easy the gravy was..yada yada..and ended the conversation with "if you want to leave me a tip, put it on the bureau.." OK so I'm a stupid yankee..Is that how people REALLY do business????

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
15 Thank wildwoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3699, colleen williams at The Confederate House, responded to this review, February 21, 2007
This review is based on untruthful statements.We do get people who spend more than they can afford which might be the case here since they are familiar with motel 6 and then deceide to take it out on us. I don't understand it but we do see it now and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

On July 7, 2006, I was treated to a long weekend in Savannah to celebrate my 50th birthday.
The Confederate Inn was a splendid, beautifully maintained bed and breakfast. Our lovely and gracious Hostess, along with her small but efficient staff, went out of their way to bring the elegance and charm of Historic Savannah alive for my wife and me. Each morning, we were greeted with fresh coffee, followed by a delicious home style southern breakfast, served in the large formal dining room, surrounded by authentic looking Greek sculpture and artwork remeniscent of the Barbizon School. How authentic to the antebellum period of American history! As we enjoyed our breakfast, we were treated to leisurely conversation with the Lady of the house, who is a wealth of historical information and amusing anecdotes. When we returned from our days' exploration of Savannah's visual and aural treasures, we slept comfortably in a spacious, imaculate bedroom that was furnished with gorgeous antiques. When we checked out, we felt as though we were bidding adieu to dear famiy members. We can't wait till the next time we can return to beautiful Historic Savannah and stay at the wonderful Confederate Inn! I could not recommend any bed and breakfast more highly!Thank you.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Confederate House, Savannah, Georgia
No SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY!
A Guest’s Review

What a HORRIBLE experience! Ms Williams, the proprietor, charges $150-$200 a night; Motel 6 seems a 5 star place by comparison! In retrospect, we should have bailed out after the first breakfast and worried about canceling the Visa payment later.

The description listed with BedandBreakfast(--) is not reality Examples below (and these are not all of the inconsistencies) list the advertised feature versus reality:
• “stay with us and see the meaning of true Southern hospitality”. Upon our arrival and finding the ‘private parking lot’ (see description below), we were directed by one of the neighbors how to get from the parking lot through the back gate of the ‘garden’ to access the front of the house – without having to walk all around the block. We proceeded to the front door to find a hand-written note stating that if there was no answer to go back down to the ‘garden’ and look for a door with an awning over it and ring the bell there. After doing so, Ms. Williams opened the door a crack and proceeded to pass out a small clipboard so that we could sign our charge card receipt (no invoice). Then she gave us a key and said our room was on the second floor, and; to make sure we lock the front door each time we go through as she didn’t want any of the “homeless people” to sneak in. With that said, she said she’d see us in the morning when breakfast was served at 9am. Such a warm welcome to the Confederate House!
As promised, we did indeed see Ms. Williams at breakfast where the conversation with Ms. Williams was disturbing. In attempting to change the conversation toward the history of the Confederate House, we were informed it had “burned to the ground and been rebuilt” a couple of times. And, that Ms. Williams had acquired the house “by the usual means”.
• “each morning a hot cooked breakfast … our signature dish is fresh baked honey biscuits … hot from the oven and served with various types of jam and butter. … fresh fruit with eggs, freshly baked muffins or rolls, bacon or sausage, fresh orange juice and coffee” The food actually served was cold and awful: fresh fruit was canned peaches with Cool Whip one morning, under-ripe melon slices the next. Egg (1 only) were scrambled hard and cold and 2 cold slices of bacon were scrawny, while the “signature dish” of fresh hot muffins or rolls were non existent. No muffins, no biscuits, nor even toast for that matter – thus no butter and no jam either. There was, in fact, no oven for them to be cooked in! The breakfast the second morning was supposed to be French toast. The version at the Confederate House was packaged raisin bread grilled with aerosol Pam-without egg batter; and need I say, served cold with, also cold, maple-flavored syrup. We looked forward to the fresh orange juice but instead were served citrus and purple colored punch. Good coffee and tea were also too much to hope for: the coffee was tepid and barely palatable, and a request for hotter water for Lipton tea was received as a major inconvenience. After two disastrous meals, we joined another couple and went to a nearby café; an extra expense.
•“IN ROOM Amenities: in room air conditioning, coffee/tea facilities, fridge, ironing board” Of those listed, we had none. Our amenities consisted of fresh towels and bar of Ivory soap – but not shampoo, hand lotion, or other even basic amenities found in average motels. The thermostat for all three guest rooms was located in the hallway. Plus, the air conditioning must have been out of balance as one couple said they were freezing, while we were uncomfortably warm – no windows to open for a breeze. A hand made sign over the hall thermostat control read: “Do not reset therosate no lower than 74” [sic]. The other amenities (coffee, tea, fridge, ironing board) were not in our room, and should have been listed as ‘on site’. Unfortunately, I actually expected a fridge in the room for medication, but made do with ice.
•“Private parking lot behind the Inn” The private parking was a vacant dirt lot common to, at least, two other properties, and easily accessible to anyone traveling on the side street. Because it didn’t feel safe, we ended up removing everything from the car for security concerns. Of course, that meant three round trips for each of us, through the parking lot, through to the garden, up one flight of stairs to the front door, and another 1 ½ flights of stairs to our room.
•“restored to original splendor” The house has indeed been remodeled, however the fireplaces are gone and only mantels remain. The floors are parquet squares circa 1970 Home Depot. The atmosphere is sterile, stuffy, and unlived in rather than historic. The inn was so warm and stuffy that we left as soon as possible in the morning and returned after dinner, only to sleep. Our room had two windows, one of which had an armoire in front of it, leaving 10” of light at the top, but expecting fresh air from those windows we were dismayed to find them sealed with plexiglass and inoperable! We did not get ‘a good night’s sleep’.

Our experience with the Confederate House and Ms. Williams in particular, was shared by other guests that we met there; how is it that three separate couples who have never before met, could share the same bad experience and find a common bond in as little as 20 minutes after meeting? The shared feeling was: “Can you believe this place and that woman?”

Helpful?
21 Thank marciefrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review, July 7, 2006
This particular couple who stayed with us and complained about the fact we put up a sighn that said do not turn air down below 74 we had to put the sighn up they were turning the air down to 60 and freezing the other couple in their room .I do remember having breakfast with them the woman kept asking me personal questions during breakfast and after a hour of answering her personal question I stated now you know my life story tomorrow you can tell all bout yourself and how you met your husband. I have a feeling that may be why they did not come to breakfst the next day. She also had my houskeeper in tears telling her how sorry she was that she had to work for me. what she did not know is this girl lost everthing in a fire we gave her a job,put her in an aprtment made sure the utilities were turned on at our expense. Then she informed the housekeeper she did not want me to sit at my own dining room table in the morning. At this bed and breakfast I come to the table each day and talk with the guest it would be rude not to. Of course the windows are sealed we have central heat and air and we don't want anyone opening windows thee is no need to. And as for the food we put large plates full of food on the table each morning. If guests do not eat that is their choice. You can not please all of the people all of the time. A few bad reviews in 5 years is not even 1% of unhappy guest. Thank-you for your letting me write this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Springs, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

The advertisements were a bit misleading; overall we had a great time celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary, but not all amenities were as purported to be. We never had the small refrigerator restocked with drinks, the breakfast was basically the same every day (cold ham, scrambled eggs, fruit, juice and coffee), and the innkeeper was rather cold at times. I emailed her upon our return home, suggesting she improve her breakfast faire and she very flippantly replied, "the breakfast is a gift; if you don't like it, find another inn."

The room where we stayed overlooked Forsythe Park and was the "largest" but had only a tub (no shower). The "garden" the website described so lavishly was barren except for a few stubs of rose bushes. It had a few plastic chairs such as those you find at sidewalk sales at grocery stores and that was it. The excuse was, "We're in the process of hiring a new gardener."

Although we loved Savannah in general (this being our first trip), we will find another place to stay when we return.

Stayed May 2004
Helpful?
16 Thank JoeSaltSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review, July 9, 2006
We paid $18,000.00 plus to have our yard landscaped and a fountain put in two years ago. Many of our guests walk in the yard and look at the variety of flowers or sit by the fountain. There is a refrigerator stocked with bottled water and soft drinks for the guests in the hallway that way we can keep refilling it without distrubing the guests. Most people enjoy our breakfast the menue changes daily that it is up to the cook. We certainly do have showers in our bathrooms they are seperate walk in showers they are not attached to the bathtub. I am sorry you could not find the refergerator or showers. They are there what can I say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 30 in Savannah
467 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#18 of 30 in Savannah
192 reviews
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#16 of 30 in Savannah
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,435 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 30 in Savannah
579 reviews
Downtown
Park Avenue Manor
Park Avenue Manor
#12 of 30 in Savannah
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Confederate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Property: The Confederate House
Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing