We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Backdoor Gem off the beaten path”
Review of Angel's BBQ

Angel's BBQ
Ranked #182 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Backdoor Gem off the beaten path”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sought out a not so touristy spot for a hearty meal that won't break the bank. This is the gem I found with a healthy serving and lots of love in the taste of their food. Sweet and helpful with great service and conversation. A must try when in the Historic District

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    76
    27
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Local BBQ in Savannah”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited Angel's BBQ during our vacation in Savannah. The other reviews are right -- hidden gem and hole in the wall. We had brisket (very tasty) accompanied by cole slaw and macaroni and cheese. Various BBQ sauces available to try on your meat. The owners are very friendly and willing to top off your ice of your sweet tea before you leave. If sweet tea isn't your thing, Angel's has long-neck Coca Cola bottles. Local kids come in during their lunch. Prices are reasonable. Glad we went here to vary up our meals during our vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdNJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome local BBQ”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is a little tough to find, but it's well worth the search. Call and she'll give you directions. This is a true local place so don't expect much in the way of fanciness. The menu is small and you're served in a classy 3 section To-Go box. Dig in! We had the pulled pork and brisket, both were amazing. The sides we had were everything you'd expect from a small place. Greens, beans, slaw, and mac & cheese. We're definitely glad we found this place and it's very reasonably priced.

Make sure you plan to visit it. We were told that they only sell what they can make that day, so when they're out, they're out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitdrob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice find for quick, tasty BBQ”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We found Angel's on Trip Advisor after visiting the Juliette Gordon Low House and realizing that our original lunch plans wouldn't work, since we had taken more time in Savannah than planned.

The service was quick, the food a good deal and most importantly... Tasty. The pulled pork, mac & cheese and cole slaw were all quite good.

I'd definitely go there again when in Savannah.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend took me to Angel's BBQ and I have to admit, it was some of the best BBQ I've ever had. The staff was great and the food was just as great. It's our little spot to eat at when we're downtown. If you go there make sure to try the sauces. They're amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel's BBQ also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Angel's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing