We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Cotton Sail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotton Sail Hotel
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Needed a quick getaway and decided to take a trip to Savannah, GA searched on kayak for a hotel and found the Cotton Sail. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. We had a room overlooking the Savannah river it was awesome, can't wait to go back and visit once all the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AKAlady1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear AKAlady1908,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at our new and modern Hotel. We are excited that you will be coming back and we hope you have another great stay here!

Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

PROS: located right on the river (although oddly enough did not hear a lot of noise from the businesses below on River Street), extremely clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff.

CONS: room was a little small (but ok for two people), could hear water running from a room close by whenever they took a shower, entrance to hotel was hard to find. They only have valet parking. You pull into the small driveway which appears to be a tiny parking lot and have to get out and walk up to valet to let them know you are there for the hotel because there are other businesses there.

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel and I loved that it was right on the River and in the middle of everything. It was also reasonably priced compared to some of the other river view hotels. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear msdarbi,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this kind review! We are glad you enjoyed our location. We will definitely discuss your suggestions and concerns with our ownership and management team. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Not only beautiful and clean rooms, but quiet. Great location. I actually was able to sleep in until my bladder woke me up after 8am... That never happens in a hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff and a great value for the price. Great views of the river.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Infopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Infopix,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and a restful sleep on our great mattresses! We are glad you enjoyed the spectacular view from your window and we will look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

En route to Savannah, did a quick Google Search of hotels in the area at which we might stay. Called The Cotton Sail directly and was booked within minutes at a very respectable rate considering the last minute reservation request.

Upon arrival - was very impressed by the location (by the River Walk and some very cute squares). The building itself was very nice and the inside was wonderfully decorated and clean. We were greeted by super nice and helpful front desk manager.

The room was outstanding - clean, clean, CLEAN!!!

Check out was easy and the morning staff was just as helpful and friendly as the night before. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: There is a city side and a river view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucker15152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Tucker15152014,

Thanks so much for your recent stay with us. We are so glad that our modern hotel quality impress you.. we also happy you enjoyed your stay here with us! We hope to see you again in the near future! Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Room was very clean and riverview was great! Hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. Also great location and is within walking distance to everything. However for $349 a night plus $25 a day for parking was a bit much. I asked if there was a refrigerator in the room and was told, "No and you have to pay extra for that". There also is no coffee or continental breakfast offered in the mornings. Yes there is a coffee maker in your room, but again for $349 a night I would think they would offer you something. Also the rooftop bar is at the hotel next door NOT here. The room was also very loud. We were on the main floor and could hear everything from the room above us and everyone who was in the lobby. This was all night as people were coming and going in the elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a riverview not on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Cassie S,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this kind review! We appreciate all your suggestions and we will definitely address your comments with our management team.. We hope to see you again in the near future..

Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Recently stayed at the Cotton Sail right on the riverfront. Great hotel still being renovated but close to everything and nice spacious rooms with a balcony. Very courteous staff and Dwayne at the front desk was extremely helpful to us. Savannah is hot hot hot in the summer but we loved the city and are going back for St. Patricks day which is supposed to be wild and crazy. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Get a riverfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwamiTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear SwamiTommy,

Thanks a lot for your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the time here during the hot summer in Savannah! We will look forward to seeing you during St Patrick day Holiday!

Take care...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Riverview room....excellent. Staff very friendly. We will be back.We enjoyed the top side bar.The drinks and food were delicious.Im a local in the area. Husband and I decided to have a night out and picked it. We will be spreading the word.Thank you for ur southern hospitality

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETHCOLLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike031, Public Relations Manager at Cotton Sail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear ELIZABETHCOLLIN,

Thanks a lot for your recent stay with us! Glad you enjoyed our "Southern Hospitality"! Delighted to hear that every thing was to your satisfaction! We thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review and hope to see you again soon!

Take care..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,078 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Sail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Sail Hotel

Address: 126 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1158
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $135 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cotton Sail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Luxury and Southern Hospitality in the Heart of Old Savannah. You've arrived at the Cotton Sail Hotel, a full-service boutique hotel positioned in the heart of old Savannah's National Landmark, the Historic District. Housed within a refurbished late-1800's cotton warehouse, the Cotton Sail Hotel was named as tribute to its nostalgic past. Through recent renovations, that storied past has been admiringly preserved and consciously revitalized, with our main lobby and each of our 56 well-appointed guestrooms being anchored with 200 year old heart of pine hardwood floors originating from the roof of the old cotton factory that is the Cotton Sail Hotel today. The Cotton Sail Hotel effortlessly blends traditional Savannah charm with upscale modern amenities. You'll decide whether it is our complimentary turn-down service & welcome amenities, our state of the art fitness center, the beautiful Brazilian hardwood deck that frames the front of our hotel or capturing the breath-taking views of the Savannah River while positioned on your guestroom balcony, that make the Cotton Sail Hotel Savannah's Premier Destination for Luxury Accommodations. Furthermore, you are welcomed to purchase a snack in our lobby sundry shop, utilize our business center, take your guestroom elevators down to dine at the River House Restaurant, stay in comfort and order room service or indulge in a drink and appetizer at Top Deck, one of Savannah's only roof top bars overlooking Historic Savannah and the Savannah River. Each level of the Cotton Sail brings its own indulgence: you can dine at the bottom, rest in the middle and let loose at the top. So envelope yourself in luxurious comfort and treat yourself to our countless amenities all designed with you in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cotton Sail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing