We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is nice, clean and hip; straight outta WILD AT HEART.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“This place is nice, clean and hip; straight outta WILD AT HEART.”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Well the sign reads BEST RATES PERIOD, but they do not specify the neighborhood. Outside of town, Microtel has more economical rates.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJonPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    568
    242
    122
    71
See reviews for
367
710
104
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

When we checked in, the clerk remarked that they were really busy that weekend and he had given the room we reserved to someone else. We were puzzled, but after five hours in the car, were also relieved when he said he could book us into another room. When we got to that room, there was hair in the tub, the toilet was dirty, there were no clean towels and when I looked at the bed, there was hair on the sheets. It was disgusting. They gave us another room--quite smaller than the one we reserved--and then we had trouble getting them to deliver the roll-away bed. At check-out, the clerk admitted they booked us into a room that hadn't been cleaned, but said something to the effect that, "we looked it over and didn't think it was too dirty" What's up with that? Do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2goChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
This is just horrible. I am embraced about this situation. I hope you can see this is NOT how I run my hotel and is an unfortunate blip. There was obviously a breakdown in the systems we have in place to prevent this. I am using this as a training opportunity for my staff as well. I have reached out to you directly so we can talk about this and so I can regain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The Thunerbird Inn is definitly a very cool place to stay in Savannah beginning with the staff Nick and Mark along with the rest of the team; they know how to Host in true Savannahian style (the people of Savannah are courteous almost to a fault). A little out of the way but very central to all of downtown Savannah it is a real bang for the buck + ; the room was sparse, clean, super big and comfortable. All my (reasonable) request were attended to immediately and professionally. All kinds of cool people from all over the world staying there. I'm a very "picky" New Yorker. These guys earned this review!! Ya'll have a nice day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you for the kind words! We loved having you with us! Hopefully you'll return to Savannah again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed two nights while in Savannah after New Years. This is a classic early 60's style motel, refurbished without diminishing the original style. The room was large enough for two as it was very well designed to make use of the available space. The king sized bed was awesomely comfortable. 50's and early 60's music plays in the parking lot all day and night- this did not disturb our sleep and put us in a good mood. Fridge and coffee available in the room- with real ceramic Thunderbird mugs! Funky toiletries too.
Mostly young clientele but we are in our 50's and did not feel out of place.
Within walking distance to the Historic Center and office staff was VERY helpful with maps, and tips for restaurants and other.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaloutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Wife & I stayed three nights here. Claims to be the hippest hotel in Savannah, but they just play '60s rock all day. Very funky, great people. Comfy, great value for historic district of Savannah -- nice location not too far from riverfront. We loved it; will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitty108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This small hotel is an excellent value. It is so clean, large rooms with many amenities. The staff are characters, and very professional. I have stayed in this hotel twice now on my trips and like it even better now. Remember Moon Pie's? They are put on your bed at turn down service. Not downtown, on the outskirts, yet close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Able to walk to everything in Historic area and River Front area. Super easy to find and get back to bridge leaving Savannah. Sweet staff and nice rooms especially for the price. Microwave and eating area in lobby. Coffee and Krispy Kreme doughnuts offered for complimentary breakfast. Hair dryer, iron and board, nice TV, and small refrigerator in rooms. Some traffic noise occassionally.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade50jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing